Bank Stablecoin Statistics 2026
By Axis Intelligence Research
Co-author: Sarah Davis, Digital Finance & Fintech | Last updated: September 3, 2026 | License: CC BY 4.0
Thirty-one named banks have publicly committed to issuing digital money. Four of them have a product a client can actually use. Axis Intelligence Research puts the sector’s Bank Money Deployment Ratio at 12.90% on September 3, 2026 — meaning roughly seven in eight committed banks have announced a token that does not yet move a customer’s money.
Quick Answer
According to Axis Intelligence Research, 31 banks are named in a public, dated announcement as committed to a bank-issued digital money initiative as of September 3, 2026, but only 4 run a client-usable product in production and only 6 have completed a live transaction. That is a Bank Money Deployment Ratio (BMDR™) of 12.90% on the production reading and 19.35% on the live-transaction reading. The gap closed measurably in the last three weeks: HSBC and Standard Chartered executed the first interbank tokenised deposit transaction on Swift’s ledger on August 19, 2026, and Citigroup became the first US bank to transact natively on that ledger on September 2, 2026.
Key Findings
- According to Axis Intelligence Research, the Bank Money Deployment Ratio reads 12.90% on the production measure and 19.35% on the live-transaction measure as of September 3, 2026 — a 6.45 percentage-point spread between banks that have moved money once and banks that have shipped a product. Twenty-five of the 31 named committed banks, or 80.65%, have neither.
- Axis Intelligence Research finds that Swift’s blockchain ledger went from public announcement to live interbank payment in 324 days, but that only 5 of its 17 named pilot banks — 29.41% — had completed a live transaction 55 days after the ledger opened. The infrastructure arrived faster than the participants did.
- Axis Intelligence Research finds that Europe’s 37-bank Qivalis consortium had zero tokens in circulation on September 3, 2026, eleven months after its founding announcement. Membership grew 311.11% from nine banks to 37 across 15 countries, while the authorisation required to issue a single euro remained pending with De Nederlandsche Bank.
- JPMorgan Chase’s Kinexys platform averages more than $5 billion in transactions daily and has processed more than $3 trillion since inception, per the firm’s own April 28, 2026 disclosure — the only bank digital-money operation publicly reporting flow at that order of magnitude.
- Axis Intelligence Research finds that only 13 of Qivalis’s 37 stated member banks — 35.14% — have been publicly named. The largest bank-issued stablecoin project in Europe discloses roughly one third of its own membership, which is a disclosure standard no incumbent stablecoin issuer would survive.
How Many Banks Have Actually Launched Bank-Issued Digital Money?
The honest answer requires separating three things that press releases deliberately blend: joining a consortium, completing a transaction, and running a product.
Almost every published count of bank stablecoin activity measures the first. It is the easiest number to gather and the least informative one, because signing a memorandum costs a bank nothing and a headline is the point. Axis Intelligence Research built the census the other way round — starting from what a corporate treasurer could actually instruct on a Thursday afternoon, then working backwards to the announcements.
The Named-Commitment Census, September 3, 2026
The universe is every bank named in a public, dated announcement as a participant in a bank-issued digital money initiative: a deposit token, a bank-consortium stablecoin, or a shared tokenised-deposit network. Three announcements supply the roster.
| Source announcement | Date | Banks named | Contribution to universe |
|---|---|---|---|
| Swift blockchain ledger pilot roster | 2026-07-09 | 17 | 17 |
| Qivalis consortium, publicly named members | 2026-05-20 | 13 | 12 (BNP Paribas already counted) |
| The Clearing House shared deposit network | 2026-06-04 | 4 | 2 (Citigroup, Wells Fargo already counted) |
| Deduplicated total | 31 |
Sources: Swift press release, July 9, 2026; Qivalis corporate disclosures and member-bank releases; The Clearing House network participants as reported June 2026. Deduplication by Axis Intelligence Research; overlaps removed were BNP Paribas, Citigroup and Wells Fargo.
Against that universe of 31, the deployment picture splits cleanly into three tiers.
| Tier | Definition | Banks | Share of universe |
|---|---|---|---|
| Production | Client-usable product running in production | JPMorgan Chase, HSBC, Citigroup, Standard Chartered | 12.90% |
| Live transaction | At least one completed live transaction, product not generally available | + First Abu Dhabi Bank, OCBC | 19.35% |
| Committed | Named participant, no live transaction disclosed | Remaining 25 | 80.65% |
Source: Axis Intelligence Research classification against issuer and infrastructure primary sources, retrieved September 3, 2026. Full bank-level assignment in the dataset.
Sarah Davis writes: Read the middle tier carefully, because it is where the reporting usually goes wrong. First Abu Dhabi Bank and OCBC each processed a live dollar transaction on September 2 — a genuine first for their regions, and not the same thing as a treasury client being able to route a payable through tokenised deposits next week. Citi said so itself: the phase runs July to December 2026 and it is a controlled proof of concept. The distance between “we moved a payment” and “our clients move payments” is the entire remaining build. In transaction banking that distance is usually measured in years, because the hard part was never the ledger — it was liquidity provisioning, sanctions screening at 3am on a Sunday, and the reconciliation the operations floor inherits when the rail breaks.
The Bank Money Deployment Ratio (BMDR™)
Bank digital money is announced far more often than it is shipped, and no one publishes a standing measurement of the gap. So Axis Intelligence Research built one.
BMDR — the Bank Money Deployment Ratio — measures what share of banks publicly committed to issuing digital money have actually deployed it, and publishes two readings side by side rather than collapsing them into one number that hides the distinction.
Formula
BMDR-Production = (B_p ÷ B_c) × 100, where B_p is the count of banks operating a client-usable bank-issued digital money product in production and B_c is the count of banks named in a public, dated announcement as committed to such an initiative.
BMDR-Live = (B_l ÷ B_c) × 100, where B_l is the count of banks that have completed at least one live transaction, whether or not the product is generally available.
Inputs and worked examples, September 3, 2026
Production: 4 ÷ 31 × 100 = 12.9032%
Live transaction: 6 ÷ 31 × 100 = 19.3548%
Spread: 19.3548 − 12.9032 = 6.4516 percentage points
| BMDR reading | Value | Banks | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Production | 12.90% | 4 of 31 | Client-usable product confirmed by issuer primary source |
| Live transaction | 19.35% | 6 of 31 | At least one completed live transaction |
| Not yet live | 80.65% | 25 of 31 | Named commitment only |
Source: Axis Intelligence Research calculation on the named-commitment census, September 3, 2026. Arithmetic executed in floating-point and in exact rational form; both passes return identical values.
Scope and inclusion rules
Every input is a countable bank, not an estimate. A bank enters the denominator only when a dated public document names it; unnamed consortium members are excluded, which is why Qivalis contributes 13 banks rather than its stated 37. That choice biases the denominator downward and therefore biases BMDR upward — 12.90% is a ceiling, not a midpoint. Counting all 37 Qivalis members would put the universe at 55 and the production reading at 7.27%.
A bank enters the numerator only on evidence from the bank itself or from a counterparty naming it. Pilots, proofs of concept and memoranda do not count toward the production reading. Interoperability with another bank’s rail does not count as issuance.
Both readings are reproducible. Take the three rosters, deduplicate, classify against primary sources, divide. That is the entire method, stated precisely so a journalist, a supervisor or a competing analyst can recompute it.
These are the baseline readings. BMDR will be re-measured quarterly, with each reading published as a dated snapshot rather than a revision of this one.
What Is a Deposit Token, and How Is It Different From a Stablecoin?
The distinction decides who bears the risk, and it is the reason banks are building deposit tokens rather than simply issuing stablecoins.
A payment stablecoin is a liability of a non-bank issuer, backed one-for-one by a segregated reserve of cash and short-dated government paper. The holder’s claim is on the reserve. A deposit token is a tokenised representation of an existing commercial bank deposit. The holder’s claim is on the bank, and it carries whatever deposit protection the underlying account carries.
That difference has three practical consequences. Deposit tokens stay inside the banking system, so the deposit does not leave the balance sheet and the bank keeps funding it. Deposit tokens can pay interest, because the ban on yield in US law applies to payment stablecoins, not to deposits. And deposit tokens are permissioned by default — JPMorgan’s JPMD is available exclusively to the firm’s institutional clients even though it settles on a public chain.
| Dimension | Payment stablecoin | Deposit token |
|---|---|---|
| Legal form | Liability of the issuer, reserve-backed | Tokenised commercial bank deposit |
| Holder’s claim | Against a segregated reserve | Against the bank |
| Interest to holder | Prohibited for permitted payment stablecoin issuers under US law | Permitted; it is a deposit |
| Access | Generally open | Permissioned to the bank’s clients |
| Deposit insurance | Not the token; reserve treatment addressed in FDIC rulemaking | Follows the underlying deposit |
Source: Axis Intelligence Research, from Public Law 119-27 and the FDIC notice of proposed rulemaking approved April 7, 2026. The FDIC proposal separately addresses tokenised deposits and insurance coverage for reserves held at insured institutions.
Sarah Davis writes: Banks did not choose deposit tokens because the technology is better. They chose them because a stablecoin takes the deposit off the balance sheet and a deposit token does not. Every dollar that migrates from a checking account into a third-party stablecoin is a dollar of funding a bank has to replace at market rates, and it takes the payment flow, the data and the client relationship with it. The deposit token is the defensive answer to that: same 24/7 settlement, same programmability, deposit stays where it was. Whether corporates care about the legal distinction as much as treasurers care about a single rail that reaches every counterparty is the question the next two years answer.
Which Banks Are Moving Real Money On-Chain Today?
Four institutions clear the production bar, and their disclosure quality varies enormously.
JPMorgan Chase
Kinexys is the only bank digital-money operation reporting flow at institutional scale. J.P. Morgan disclosed on April 28, 2026 that the platform has processed more than $3 trillion since inception and averages more than $5 billion daily, having operated since 2015. Its USD deposit token, JPMD, became available to institutional clients on Base, the Ethereum Layer 2 built within Coinbase, after a proof of concept that ran with B2C2, Coinbase and Mastercard.
Both figures are stated as floors by the firm. Axis Intelligence Research publishes them as floors rather than converting them into a precise annualised number, because a bank that writes “more than” is signalling a range it has not disclosed.
HSBC and Standard Chartered
On August 19, 2026, the two banks executed the first live cross-border interbank transaction on Swift’s ledger, recording the resulting obligations as tokenised deposit obligations on HSBC’s Tokenised Deposit Service and on Standard Chartered’s own infrastructure, with the ledger matching and netting before final settlement ran through existing rails.
HSBC’s service is the broadest bank digital-money footprint disclosed by any institution: live in six markets — Hong Kong, Singapore, Luxembourg, the United Kingdom, the United States and the United Arab Emirates — and supporting seven currencies, being CNH, HKD, SGD, EUR, GBP, USD and AED. The US market was added in April 2026.
Citigroup
On September 2, 2026, Citi announced it had processed live transactions on Swift’s ledger with First Abu Dhabi Bank and OCBC — the first in the Middle East and Southeast Asia regions respectively, and the first native ledger transactions by a US bank. Citi disclosed that its 24/7 USD Clearing solution serves over 300 bank clients and that Citi Token Services has processed around $1 billion. DBS and United Overseas Bank are expected to follow within the month.
| Bank | Product | Disclosed scale | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase | Kinexys, JPMD deposit token | Over $5B daily; over $3T cumulative | Production, institutional clients | J.P. Morgan, Apr 28 2026 |
| HSBC | Tokenised Deposit Service | 6 markets, 7 currencies | Production | HSBC, Aug 19 2026 |
| Citigroup | Citi Token Services, 24/7 USD Clearing | Around $1B processed; 300+ bank clients | Production | Citigroup, Sep 2 2026 |
| Standard Chartered | Tokenised deposit infrastructure | Not disclosed | Production | Standard Chartered, Aug 19 2026 |
| First Abu Dhabi Bank | Swift ledger participation | Not disclosed | Live transaction | Citigroup, Sep 2 2026 |
| OCBC | Swift ledger participation | Not disclosed | Live transaction | Citigroup, Sep 2 2026 |
Source: issuer and counterparty primary announcements, retrieved September 3, 2026. Scale figures are company-reported and are not comparable across institutions.
A note on what Axis Intelligence Research will not calculate. JPMorgan’s $5 billion is an average daily flow. Citi’s $1 billion carries no stated reporting period. Dividing one by the other produces a figure with no defined unit, and it would be quoted as a market-share comparison within a day of publication. The two numbers appear side by side here and the ratio is recorded in the dataset as retracted, with the reasoning attached.
How Fast Did the Swift Ledger Go From Announcement to Live Interbank Payment?
Faster than the banks on it. That is the finding, and it inverts the usual story about legacy infrastructure holding back digital money.
Swift announced the shared ledger on September 29, 2025 with a design cohort of more than 30 institutions. It declared the ledger ready for initial use on July 9, 2026 with 17 named pilot banks from six continents — 283 days, which the cooperative describes as a nine-month build.
The Swift Ledger Timeline
| Date | Milestone | Elapsed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-29 | Ledger announced, 30+ design institutions | — | Swift |
| 2026-07-09 | Ledger ready, 17 pilot banks named | 283 days from announcement | Swift |
| 2026-08-19 | First interbank transaction, HSBC and Standard Chartered | 41 days from ready | HSBC, Standard Chartered |
| 2026-09-02 | First US bank transactions, Citi with FAB and OCBC | 55 days from ready | Citigroup |
| 2026-12-31 | Scheduled end of controlled proof-of-concept phase | — | Citigroup |
Source: Swift, HSBC, Standard Chartered and Citigroup primary announcements. Elapsed intervals calculated by Axis Intelligence Research.
According to Axis Intelligence Research, 5 of the 17 named pilot banks — 29.41% — had completed a live transaction 55 days after the ledger opened. Those five are HSBC, Standard Chartered, Citigroup, First Abu Dhabi Bank and OCBC. The other twelve, including BNY, UBS, MUFG, Wells Fargo, ANZ, BNP Paribas, Lloyds, Mashreq, DBS, UOB, FirstRand and Itaú Unibanco, had not disclosed one.
The pilot roster itself is a filter worth noticing. Swift named a design cohort of more than 30 institutions at announcement; 17 are piloting. Getting named on a design committee and putting a client’s dollars through the rail are separated by a compliance sign-off that most of the cohort has not yet obtained.
Why Has Europe’s 37-Bank Consortium Not Issued a Token Yet?
Because membership is not a licence, and Qivalis needs one.
The consortium is the largest coordinated bank stablecoin effort anywhere. Nine European banks — Banca Sella, CaixaBank, Danske Bank, DekaBank, ING, KBC, Raiffeisen Bank International, SEB and UniCredit — announced on September 25, 2025 that they would launch a MiCAR-compliant issuer supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank. BNP Paribas joined on December 1, the Amsterdam-domiciled entity was incorporated the following day, BBVA joined on February 4, 2026 taking the count to twelve, and by May 20, 2026 membership reached 37 banks across 15 countries, with Piraeus Bank and Intesa Sanpaolo among the arrivals.
Qivalis Membership Growth
| Date | Member banks | Cumulative growth | Tokens in circulation |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-25 | 9 | baseline | 0 |
| 2025-12-01 | 10 | +11.11% | 0 |
| 2026-02-04 | 12 | +33.33% | 0 |
| 2026-05-20 | 37 | +311.11% | 0 |
Source: member-bank announcements from KBC, CaixaBank, BBVA and Piraeus Bank; growth calculated by Axis Intelligence Research against the September 2025 founding cohort. Circulation confirmed at zero against Qivalis corporate disclosures, September 3, 2026.
The right-hand column is the one that matters. Membership quadrupled while issuance stayed at zero, because the venture is still pursuing authorisation as an electronic money institution from the Dutch central bank. Commercial launch remains targeted for the second half of 2026 — a window with 119 days left in it as of publication.
According to Axis Intelligence Research, only 13 of the 37 stated members have been publicly named, or 35.14%. The remaining 24 are disclosed as a count.
Sarah Davis writes: The unnamed 24 is the line that should bother anyone underwriting this. Qivalis is asking the market to accept a euro token whose credibility rests on the collective standing of its bank shareholders, and it has told the market who roughly two thirds of those shareholders are not. Circle publishes a balance sheet quarterly with the SEC. Tether now carries an unqualified audit opinion. Both got there because institutional allocators refused to move size against an issuer they could not inspect. A bank consortium starts with more inherent credibility than either — and is currently disclosing less about who stands behind it. That asymmetry closes at authorisation or it becomes the story.
What Does the GENIUS Act Change for Bank Issuers, and When?
It gives every insured depository institution a route to issue through a subsidiary, and it sets two dates that reorganise the market.
The statute was enacted as Public Law 119-27 on July 18, 2025 — 412 days before publication. The implementing rules are not final. The OCC issued its notice of proposed rulemaking on February 25, 2026, covering application requirements, permissible activities, the prohibition on paying interest or yield, reserve maintenance, redemption and capital adequacy. The FDIC Board approved its proposal on April 7, 2026, which also addresses tokenised deposits and clarifies deposit insurance coverage for reserves held at insured institutions.
Statutory Calendar
| Date | Milestone | Days from September 3, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-07-18 | GENIUS Act enacted | 412 elapsed |
| 2026-02-25 | OCC proposed rule issued | 190 elapsed |
| 2026-04-07 | FDIC proposed rule approved | 149 elapsed |
| 2027-01-18 | Expected effective date; licence required to issue | 137 remaining |
| 2028-07-18 | Service providers may offer only permitted issuers’ tokens | 684 remaining |
Source: Public Law 119-27; OCC Bulletin 2026-3; FDIC financial institution letter, April 2026. Intervals calculated by Axis Intelligence Research.
The effective date resolves to the earlier of eighteen months after enactment or 120 days after final rules. With no final rules issued, it lands on January 18, 2027.
Notice what this timeline does to the deployment picture. A bank that wants to issue a payment stablecoin in the United States needs a permit in 137 days, against rules that are still proposals. A bank that issues a deposit token instead needs no new permit, because a tokenised deposit is a deposit. That regulatory asymmetry — not customer demand — is the cleanest explanation for why the four production deployments in this dataset are all deposit tokens and tokenised deposit services, and why the only bank-consortium stablecoin at scale is being built in Europe under a different statute.
Reserve composition, custody and the Treasury-market consequences of that reserve sit outside this dataset; our stablecoin treasury holdings analysis covers them for the incumbent issuers, and the stablecoin market structure dataset covers issuer concentration.
Methodology
Data collection
Every figure originates from a document fetched and read during a production session on September 3, 2026. Anchor sources:
- Swift, press release of July 9, 2026 announcing ledger readiness and naming the 17 pilot banks, and the announcement of September 29, 2025 establishing the design cohort.
- J.P. Morgan, Kinexys milestones disclosure of April 28, 2026, and the JPMD availability announcement of November 12, 2025.
- Standard Chartered and HSBC, joint announcement of August 19, 2026 covering the first live interbank tokenised deposit transaction, HSBC Tokenised Deposit Service market and currency coverage.
- Citigroup, announcement of September 2, 2026 distributed through BusinessWire, covering live Swift ledger transactions with First Abu Dhabi Bank and OCBC, Citi Token Services volume and 24/7 USD Clearing client count.
- Qivalis corporate disclosures, and member-bank announcements from KBC, CaixaBank, BBVA and Piraeus Bank establishing the membership timeline.
- Public Law 119-27, OCC Bulletin 2026-3, and the FDIC notice of proposed rulemaking approved April 7, 2026.
Formulas
BMDR-Production = B_p ÷ B_c × 100 = 4 ÷ 31 × 100 = 12.9032% BMDR-Live = B_l ÷ B_c × 100 = 6 ÷ 31 × 100 = 19.3548%
Every derived figure was computed twice, once in floating-point and once in exact rational arithmetic, with assertion checks; both passes agree to the digits published. The CSV was validated programmatically for column-count consistency, ISO 8601 dates, HTTPS source URLs, absence of currency and percentage symbols in value fields, and presence of a method note on every calculated row.
A calculation we refused
JPMorgan reports an average daily transaction flow. Citigroup reports an aggregate with no stated reporting period. A ratio between them would have no defined unit and would be read as market share. The figures are published separately and the ratio is recorded in the dataset as retracted with its reasoning.
Definitions and scope
“Production” means a client-usable product confirmed by the issuing bank or by a named counterparty. “Live transaction” means at least one completed transaction disclosed by a primary source. “Committed” means named in a public dated announcement. Unnamed consortium members are excluded from the denominator, which raises BMDR; counting all 37 Qivalis members would lower the production reading to 7.27%. Company-reported scale figures are not comparable across institutions and are labelled as company-reported throughout. Link verification for this article was performed through direct document retrieval and search-index confirmation; the production environment’s egress restrictions prevented an independent HTTP status check.
About This Dataset
bank-stablecoin-statistics-2026.csv contains 48 rows, one observation per row, covering the named-commitment census, BMDR readings and inputs, per-bank product status and disclosed scale, the Swift ledger timeline, Qivalis membership growth, and the US statutory calendar. Point-in-time coverage September 3, 2026, with underlying observations from September 2025 forward. Each row carries value, unit, as-of date, geography, segment, source organisation, source document, source URL, retrieval date, primary-source flag, Axis-calculated flag, method note and data type.
Creator and publisher: Axis Intelligence Research
Spatial coverage: Global, with United States and European Union regulatory rows
License: CC BY 4.0 — free to reuse, redistribute and build upon with attribution
Cite as: Axis Intelligence Research, “Bank Stablecoin Statistics 2026,” axis-intelligence.com, 2026.
The September 3, 2026 BMDR readings are baseline readings for this metric.
Citation Formats
APA: Axis Intelligence Research. (2026). Bank stablecoin statistics 2026: Deposit tokens, consortium coins and the deployment gap. https://axis-intelligence.com/bank-stablecoin-statistics/
MLA: Axis Intelligence Research. “Bank Stablecoin Statistics 2026: Deposit Tokens, Consortium Coins and the Deployment Gap.” Axis Intelligence Research, 3 Sept. 2026, axis-intelligence.com/bank-stablecoin-statistics/.
Chicago: Axis Intelligence Research. “Bank Stablecoin Statistics 2026: Deposit Tokens, Consortium Coins and the Deployment Gap.” Axis Intelligence Research. September 3, 2026. https://axis-intelligence.com/bank-stablecoin-statistics/.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a deposit token the same thing as a bank stablecoin?
No, and the difference is legal rather than technical. A deposit token is a tokenised claim on an existing commercial bank deposit, so it stays on the bank’s balance sheet and carries the deposit’s regulatory treatment. A bank stablecoin is a separately issued payment instrument backed by a segregated reserve, and under US law its issuer may not pay the holder interest. Every production deployment in this dataset — JPMorgan’s JPMD, HSBC’s Tokenised Deposit Service, Citi Token Services, Standard Chartered’s infrastructure — is a deposit token or tokenised deposit service, not a stablecoin.
Which banks can a corporate treasurer actually use bank-issued digital money with today?
Four, on the evidence of primary sources: JPMorgan Chase, HSBC, Citigroup and Standard Chartered. HSBC’s service is live in six markets and seven currencies; JPMorgan’s JPMD is available to its institutional clients on Base; Citi Token Services runs on a private permissioned chain alongside 24/7 USD Clearing. Availability within each bank is restricted to that bank’s own eligible clients, which is the defining constraint of the deposit-token model.
Does a live transaction on Swift’s ledger mean tokenised deposits are in production?
Not yet. Citi described its September 2026 transactions with First Abu Dhabi Bank and OCBC as part of a controlled proof-of-concept phase running from July to December 2026, and the Swift ledger matches and nets obligations before final settlement completes through existing payment systems. The ledger coordinates instructions between separately operated bank platforms rather than moving funds itself. That architecture is why interoperability was demonstrable within 41 days of the ledger opening while general client availability remains ahead.
Why does the Bank Money Deployment Ratio use 31 banks rather than the 37 in the Qivalis consortium alone?
Because BMDR counts named banks only. Qivalis states 37 members but has publicly named 13, so 13 enter the census, and 12 of those are new after removing BNP Paribas, who also appears on the Swift roster. Adding the Swift pilot roster of 17 and the two additional Clearing House banks gives 31. Excluding unnamed members shrinks the denominator and therefore raises the ratio, so 12.90% is a ceiling. On the full stated membership the universe would be 55 and the production reading 7.27%.
Will bank-issued digital money take deposits away from banks the way stablecoins do?
That is precisely the outcome deposit tokens are designed to prevent. When a customer moves cash into a third-party stablecoin, the deposit leaves the bank and has to be replaced with market funding. A deposit token keeps the balance on the issuing bank’s books while giving the client 24/7 settlement and programmability. The competitive risk migrates from funding loss to network effect: a single-bank token is only useful inside that bank’s client base, which is why shared networks and interoperability layers are where the money is being spent.
What happens to bank stablecoin plans if the GENIUS Act rules are not finalised before January 2027?
The effective date does not move. The statute sets it as the earlier of eighteen months after enactment or 120 days after final rules, so with no final rules the date resolves to January 18, 2027 — 137 days from publication. Banks issuing deposit tokens are largely insulated, because a tokenised deposit is a deposit and needs no payment stablecoin permit. Banks planning a payment stablecoin subsidiary face a permit requirement against rules that are still proposals, which is a significant part of why the deposit-token route has attracted the production deployments so far.
Why is Europe’s bank consortium building a stablecoin when US banks are building deposit tokens?
Different statutes produce different instruments. Qivalis is pursuing authorisation as an electronic money institution under MiCAR, a regime that channels fiat-referenced tokens through licensed e-money issuers and banks, and the consortium structure lets member banks share one issuer rather than each building a token with no external reach. In the United States, the deposit-token route sidesteps the payment stablecoin permit entirely. The instrument follows the licence, not the technology.
How much money actually moves through bank digital-money rails compared with stablecoins?
The honest answer is that the comparison cannot be made cleanly from public disclosure. JPMorgan reports averaging more than $5 billion daily on Kinexys and more than $3 trillion since 2015; Citi reports around $1 billion processed through Citi Token Services with no stated period; HSBC and Standard Chartered disclose market and currency coverage but no volume. Those bases are not comparable with each other, let alone with on-chain stablecoin transfer counts. Axis Intelligence Research publishes each figure with its source and reporting basis attached and refuses the cross-institution ratio.
What would move the BMDR readings materially in the next quarter?
Three things. Wells Fargo shipping the tokenised deposit service it has said will reach corporate clients this autumn would take the production reading to 5 of 31, or 16.13%. Qivalis obtaining Dutch authorisation and issuing would add its named members to the numerator and reframe the European segment entirely. And completion of the Citi proof-of-concept phase in December 2026 would either convert several Swift roster banks to production or reveal that interoperability demonstrations do not convert, which is the more interesting outcome for anyone forecasting bank digital money volumes.
Related Axis Intelligence Research analysis: Stablecoin statistics covers issuer concentration and market structure · Stablecoin treasury holdings statistics covers reserve composition and Treasury-market transmission · Stablecoin payment statistics covers real payment volume and corridor economics · Neobank statistics covers the deposit base under competition · the full Axis statistics library indexes every dataset we publish.
