Stablecoin Payment Statistics 2026
By Axis Intelligence Research
Co-author: Sarah Davis | Last updated: July 24, 2026 | License: CC BY 4.0
Only $390 billion of the $35 trillion that moved across stablecoin networks in 2025 was a genuine economic payment. The rest was trading, internal shuffling, and automated contract loops. That 1.11% figure — which Axis Intelligence Research calls the Real-Payment Penetration Rate (RPPR) — is the single most important number in this entire dataset: it tells you both how small the real market is today and how large the runway ahead actually is.
Quick Answer
Actual stablecoin payment volume reached $390 billion in 2025, more than doubling 2024 levels, per a joint analysis by McKinsey & Company and Artemis Analytics published in February 2026. B2B transactions account for approximately $226 billion of that — 57.9% of all real stablecoin payments, up 733% year-over-year. According to Axis Intelligence Research, stablecoins are presently capturing 0.02% of global payment volumes, yet Visa’s stablecoin settlement program is already running at a $7 billion annualized rate as of April 2026.
Key Findings
- According to Axis Intelligence Research’s analysis of McKinsey/Artemis data, the Real-Payment Penetration Rate (RPPR) for stablecoins in 2025 was 1.11% — meaning that for every $90 moved on-chain, only $1 represented a genuine real-economy transaction such as a supplier payment, remittance, or payroll disbursement. The remaining $89 was trading activity, internal exchange flows, or automated smart-contract mechanics.
- According to Axis Intelligence Research, applying stablecoin cost structures (0.1–0.5%) to the $905 billion in global remittances recorded in 2024 by the World Bank suggests potential annual fee savings of approximately $54.8 billion, calculated as the difference between the World Bank’s Q3 2025 global average remittance cost of 6.36% and a midpoint stablecoin all-in cost of 0.3% applied across the full remittance market — a theoretical ceiling that depends on corridor-by-corridor infrastructure buildout.
- According to Axis Intelligence Research’s review of primary data, Asia originated 62.8% of all real stablecoin payment volume in 2025 ($245 billion of $390 billion), driven almost entirely by Singapore, Hong Kong, and Japan, while Latin America and Africa each contributed less than $1 billion — a concentration gap that reflects on-ramp infrastructure, not payment demand.
- Visa’s stablecoin settlement program doubled from a $3.5 billion annualized run rate in November 2025 to $7 billion by April 2026, expanding from Solana and Ethereum to nine blockchains including Base, Polygon, Canton Network, Arc, and Tempo — representing the fastest institutional settlement infrastructure buildout in the payments industry since the launch of SWIFT GPI.
- The GENIUS Act, signed into law on July 18, 2025, erased an estimated $300 billion (18%) from the combined market capitalization of incumbent publicly traded payment firms, according to an IMF working paper published in 2026 that used high-frequency stock-price event study methodology — the largest market-structure signal yet that financial markets believe stablecoin rails will materially compete with card networks and correspondent banking.
How Much Do Stablecoins Actually Move in Payments?
This is where almost every stablecoin article gets the number wrong. The headline figures — $28 trillion, $35 trillion, $46 trillion in annual on-chain volume — are not payment volumes. McKinsey, working with Artemis Analytics on a granular analysis of December 2025 blockchain data, found that actual stablecoin payments (commercial transfers, settlement, payroll, remittances) totaled $390 billion annually, annualized from that month’s activity. The full methodology is in their February 2026 report, Stablecoins in Payments: What the Raw Transaction Numbers Miss.
The headline figures include:
- Exchanges and custodians moving stablecoins between their own wallets
- Smart contracts automatically recycling the same capital through yield loops
- Arbitrage and liquidity management across DEX pools
- Protocol-level mechanics that generate multiple on-chain transactions for a single economic act
Stripping those flows out leaves $390 billion — which more than doubled from 2024 levels. That is real growth. It is also 0.02% of global payment volumes. Both facts are true simultaneously.
Stablecoin Payment Volume by Use Case (2025, Annualized)
| Use Case | Volume | Share of Real Payments | Market Penetration |
|---|---|---|---|
| B2B payments | $226 billion | 57.9% | 0.01% |
| Consumer-to-consumer (C2C) | $77 billion | 19.7% | 0.37% |
| Consumer-to-business (C2B) | $76 billion | 19.5% | 0.11% |
| Business-to-consumer (B2C) | $11 billion | 2.8% | 0.01% |
| Total | $390 billion | 100% | 0.02% |
Source: McKinsey & Company / Artemis Analytics, February 2026. Based on annualized December 2025 on-chain data. Methodology note: B2B estimates apply 20% payment attribution to custody/treasury provider flows, cross-checked against McKinsey Global Payments Map transaction-size ranges of $4,500–$600,000.
The most important column is market penetration. C2C leads at 0.37% — the highest penetration of any segment — because peer-to-peer remittances and informal dollar access in high-inflation markets were stablecoins’ first genuine use case. B2B sits at just 0.01% despite being the largest segment by dollar volume, which means the growth runway in corporate treasury and supply-chain settlement is measured in orders of magnitude, not percentage points.
The Real-Payment Penetration Rate: An Axis Intelligence Research Metric
The single most useful way to track stablecoin’s transition from crypto-trading infrastructure to genuine payment rail is to monitor what fraction of on-chain volume actually constitutes real economic activity. Axis Intelligence Research defines this as the Real-Payment Penetration Rate (RPPR):
RPPR = (Verified Real-Economy Payment Volume / Total Reported On-Chain Transfer Volume) × 100
For 2025: $390 billion ÷ $35 trillion × 100 = 1.11%
Inputs:
- Verified real-economy payment volume: $390 billion (McKinsey / Artemis Analytics, based on December 2025 annualized data, published February 18, 2026, at mckinsey.com)
- Total reported on-chain transfer volume: $35 trillion (Artemis Analytics / Allium, cited in McKinsey analysis as the headline figure commonly reported in 2025)
Limitations: The denominator varies by source and methodology (figures ranging $28T–$62T appear in the literature depending on whether bot activity, intra-exchange flows, and L2 bridging are included or excluded). Axis Intelligence Research uses McKinsey’s stated $35T figure because it comes from the same analysis that produced the $390B real-payment estimate, making the ratio internally consistent. The RPPR will be tracked annually; the baseline reading is 1.11% for the 2025 measurement period.
As the infrastructure matures — more regulated on-ramps, more business treasury integrations, more card-linked spending — the RPPR should rise. A RPPR above 5% would signal that stablecoin payment rails have moved from early-adopter infrastructure to mainstream payment infrastructure.
B2B Payments: The Engine of Stablecoin Growth
B2B was responsible for $226 billion of 2025’s $390 billion in real stablecoin payments, and it grew 733% year-over-year. The arithmetic behind that growth rate is not subtle: monthly B2B stablecoin volume ran at under $100 million in early 2023, and by mid-2025 it was above $6 billion per month, according to Stablecoin Insider’s analysis of Artemis data.
That 5,900% increase over roughly 30 months reflects the payment problem stablecoins actually solve for businesses. A manufacturing SME in Jakarta paying a component supplier in Osaka through a correspondent banking chain pays 2–7% in all-in costs (fees, FX spread, and hidden cut-off-time float), waits one to three business days for settlement, and has no visibility into where the funds are at any point. The same payment routed through USDC on Solana settles in under 400 milliseconds at a fraction of one percent in fees, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
BVNK, a B2B stablecoin payments processor, processed $30 billion in annualized stablecoin payment volume in 2025, up 2.3x from the prior year, with one-third of that volume from the U.S. market alone. Fireblocks and Anchorage Digital report similar institutional order growth.
B2B Stablecoin Adoption by Sector (2025)
| Sector | Primary Use Case | Notable Adoption Signal |
|---|---|---|
| Supply chain / manufacturing | Cross-border supplier payments | SMEs in Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan |
| Technology / SaaS | Contractor payroll across 50+ currencies | Firms with distributed global workforce |
| Media / content | Creator payouts, marketplace earnings | DAO disbursements |
| Capital markets | Tokenized fund settlement, dividend distribution | Asset managers using on-chain fund vehicles |
| E-commerce | Merchant settlement in frontier markets | High-inflation corridor adoption |
Source: McKinsey & Company, “Stablecoins in Payments,” February 2026; Stablecoin Insider, January 2026.
Where Stablecoin Payments Come From: Regional Breakdown
Stablecoin Payment Volume by Origin Region (2025)
| Region | Volume | Share | YoY Growth |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asia (Singapore, HK, Japan) | $245 billion | 62.8% | +67% |
| North America | $95 billion | 24.4% | Not reported separately |
| Europe | $50 billion | 12.8% | Not reported separately |
| Latin America | <$1 billion | <0.3% | Not reported separately |
| Africa | <$1 billion | <0.3% | Not reported separately |
Source: McKinsey & Company / Artemis Analytics, February 18, 2026. Figures represent annualized December 2025 data. Asia volume figure includes payment flows originating from addresses associated with institutional and retail users in Singapore, Hong Kong, and Japan.
Asia’s 62.8% share is not a coincidence of crypto adoption. It reflects geography and corridor structure: the most active stablecoin payment corridors today are Singapore→Southeast Asia, Hong Kong→Greater China, and Japan→Southeast Asia — exactly the routes where correspondent banking chains are longest, FX costs are highest, and settlement delays are most damaging to working capital.
The Latin America and Africa numbers are the more important story for where growth will come from. Both regions have enormous remittance inflows — the World Bank Migration & Development Brief recorded $163 billion into Latin America and $56 billion into Sub-Saharan Africa in 2024 — yet stablecoin penetration is near zero. Sub-Saharan Africa is also the most expensive remittance destination in the world, averaging 8.46% of the amount sent in Q3 2025, per the World Bank’s Remittance Prices Worldwide database (Issue 54). Any material on-ramp buildout in Nigeria, Kenya, or Ghana shifts those numbers visibly.
What the World Bank Data Says About the Cost Opportunity
The World Bank Remittance Prices Worldwide database (Q3 2025, Issue 54) gives the most authoritative cost baseline for traditional rails:
Traditional Remittance Costs: Global Benchmarks (Q3 2025)
| Channel / Region | Cost (% of $200 sent) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Global average | 6.36% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| Banks (global average) | 14.99% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| Digital MTOs (global average) | 4.59% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| Digital-only MTOs | 3.54% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| Sub-Saharan Africa (receiving) | 8.46% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| Germany → any destination | 4.49% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| US → any destination | 5.04% | World Bank RPW Q3 2025 |
| UN SDG 2030 target | 3.00% | UN SDG 10.c |
Source: World Bank, Remittance Prices Worldwide, Issue 54, September 2025. Report reflects Q3 2025 data, published April 2026.
Stablecoin on-chain transfer costs for established corridors run between 0.1% and 0.5%, according to cross-border payment guides from AlphaPoint and ECO.com verified in June 2026 — roughly 12 to 60 times cheaper than the bank channel for a $200 transfer.
The Axis Intelligence Research cost-savings estimate: Applying the stablecoin midpoint cost of 0.3% to the World Bank’s 2024 estimate of $905 billion in global remittance flows (versus the 6.36% traditional average from Q3 2025), the theoretical annual fee savings from full stablecoin adoption across the remittance market would be approximately $54.8 billion. Formula: $905B × (6.36% − 0.3%) = $905B × 6.06% = $54.8 billion. This is a ceiling estimate, not a forecast — it assumes frictionless on-ramp and off-ramp access globally, which does not exist today, particularly in Sub-Saharan Africa and parts of South Asia. The real number as infrastructure matures will be smaller, but the directional signal is unambiguous.
Institutional Infrastructure: Visa, Mastercard, and the Card-Network Pivot
The clearest institutional signal in the 2025–2026 stablecoin payments data is not the on-chain volume figures. It is what Visa did with its settlement rails.
Visa launched USDC settlement in the United States on December 16, 2025, allowing U.S. issuer and acquirer partners — beginning with Cross River Bank and Lead Bank — to settle VisaNet obligations in Circle’s USDC over the Solana blockchain. As of November 30, 2025, Visa’s stablecoin settlement program had already reached a $3.5 billion annualized run rate, per Visa’s official press release. By April 2026, after expanding to nine blockchains, that figure had doubled to $7 billion annualized.
Mastercard announced settlement support for regulated stablecoins (USDC, PYUSD, and RLUSD) in June 2026, two months behind Visa.
The business logic here is straightforward: stablecoin settlement eliminates the weekend float problem, the banking-hours constraint, and the one-day or longer correspondent processing delay that currently sits between when a consumer taps their card and when a merchant’s bank actually receives cleared funds. For acquirers and PSPs, settlement speed is becoming a product feature — one that stablecoin rails deliver and legacy wire-based systems cannot.
Visa Stablecoin Settlement Program Timeline
| Date | Milestone | Volume (annualized) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | First USDC pilot (with Crypto.com) | Not disclosed | Visa press release |
| Nov 30, 2025 | Settlement program milestone | $3.5 billion | Visa investor relations, Dec 2025 |
| Dec 16, 2025 | U.S. USDC settlement launch (Solana) | $3.5 billion | Visa press release |
| Jan 2026 | Run rate update | $4.5 billion | Stablecoin Insider, Jan 2026 |
| Apr 29, 2026 | Expanded to 9 blockchains | $7 billion | CoinDesk, April 29, 2026 |
Source: Visa investor relations; CoinDesk.
The Stablecoin Market Behind the Payments
Supply Concentration
The stablecoin market supporting all payment activity above sat at $314.68 billion across 382 tracked stablecoins as of June 21, 2026, per DefiLlama’s on-chain aggregation cited by CoinLaw. The concentration underneath that headline is extreme:
- USDT (Tether): ~$186–188 billion, approximately 59–60% of total supply
- USDC (Circle): ~$73–75 billion, approximately 24% of total supply
- Combined USDT + USDC: 83% of the entire market
- Top 5 issuers combined: 88–89% of market
By volume (as distinct from supply), the split inverts: USDC led with approximately 70% of Visa’s adjusted stablecoin transaction volume in H1 2026, per KuCoin’s analysis of Visa Onchain Analytics data, versus 25% for USDT. The divergence reflects USDC’s traction with regulated U.S. institutions under the GENIUS Act framework and USDT’s continued dominance in emerging-market remittance corridors where USDC on-ramps are limited.
Blockchain Concentration
By chain, Ethereum hosted approximately $156.6 billion in stablecoins in H1 2026, and Tron held approximately $89.6 billion, together accounting for roughly 78% of all circulating stablecoin supply, per DefiLlama data cited in CoinsPaid Media’s H1 2026 analysis.
Stablecoin Supply and Market Cap Snapshot
| Metric | Value | As-of Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total market cap | $314.68 billion | June 21, 2026 | DefiLlama / CoinLaw |
| USDT market cap | ~$186–188 billion | H1 2026 | DefiLlama |
| USDC market cap | ~$73–75 billion | H1 2026 | DefiLlama |
| USDT + USDC combined share | ~83% | H1 2026 | DefiLlama |
| % pegged to USD | ~99–100% | Mid-2026 | DefiLlama |
| Ethereum-hosted supply | ~$156.6 billion (~59%) | H1 2026 | DefiLlama / CoinsPaid Media |
| Tron-hosted supply | ~$89.6 billion | H1 2026 | DefiLlama / CoinsPaid Media |
| YoY supply growth | ~23% | June 2026 vs June 2025 | DefiLlama |
Source: DefiLlama on-chain aggregation; CoinsPaid Media H1 2026 market analysis.
What Regulation Is Actually Doing to the Market
The GENIUS Act
The Guiding and Establishing National Innovation for U.S. Stablecoins Act (GENIUS Act, S.1582) was signed into law by President Trump on July 18, 2025, following a 68–30 Senate vote on June 17 and a 308–122 House vote on July 17. It is the first federal framework for payment stablecoins in U.S. history.
Core requirements for permitted payment stablecoin issuers:
- 1:1 reserve backing in cash or high-quality liquid assets (primarily short-term U.S. Treasuries)
- Monthly public reserve disclosures
- Monthly independent audits with personal executive attestations
- Dual-track regulatory pathway (federal OCC charter or state licensing under equivalent standards)
The IMF’s event-study analysis, published in Working Paper WP/26/52, found that markets priced this legislation as an 18% reduction — approximately $300 billion — in the combined market capitalization of incumbent publicly traded payment firms. Cross-border payment companies took the hardest hit (a 27% market value reduction in the IMF’s estimation), consistent with the thesis that stablecoin rails disrupt expensive international corridors first.
The compliance clock is running: issuers have approximately 120 days from the finalization of OCC/FDIC/Treasury rules (comment periods closed between May and June 2026) to meet the framework’s requirements, with implementation expected in late 2026.
MiCA (European Union)
The EU’s Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation entered full effect in December 2024, requiring stablecoin issuers serving European users to register as credit institutions or electronic money institutions and meet 1:1 reserve and governance standards. Non-compliant stablecoins have been removed from regulated platforms in the EU, narrowing the operational market to USDC, EURC, and a handful of MiCA-licensed euro-pegged tokens.
The philosophical contrast with the GENIUS Act matters: MiCA emphasizes institutional gatekeeping (only licensed banks/EMIs can issue), while the GENIUS Act emphasizes reserve quality (any entity meeting reserve and audit standards qualifies). That difference will shape which jurisdictions become dominant stablecoin issuance hubs over the next decade.
Where Stablecoin Payments Are Headed: The Forecast Landscape
Market Cap and Supply Projections
| Institution | Projection | Timeline | Scenario |
|---|---|---|---|
| Citi Institute | $1.9 trillion supply | 2030 | Base case |
| Citi Institute | $4.0 trillion supply | 2030 | Bull case |
| U.S. Treasury (Scott Bessent) | $3 trillion supply | 2030 | Forward guidance |
| Standard Chartered | $2 trillion supply | End-2028 | Favorable regulation |
| JPMorgan | $500 billion supply | 2028 | Conservative |
Source: Citi Institute “Stablecoins 2030” report, September 2025; U.S. Treasury Secretary remarks, November 2025; Standard Chartered research cited in multiple industry sources.
These projections span a 4x range. The divergence is not about whether stablecoins grow; it is about adoption speed, regulatory friction in non-U.S. markets, and how aggressively banks absorb stablecoin issuance versus allow fintech challengers to own it.
Cross-Border B2B Payments Projection
Juniper Research published a market study in April 2026 projecting cross-border B2B stablecoin transactions will reach $5 trillion by 2035, up from $13.4 billion in 2026 — a 373x increase. The same study projects 85% of stablecoin transaction value in 2035 will be B2B, signaling the transition from remittance-dominated use to institutionalized treasury and supply-chain settlement.
The Visa Adjusted Volume Signal
Visa Onchain Analytics, powered by Allium Labs, tracks “adjusted stablecoin volume” — total on-chain transfers filtered to remove bot activity, internal exchange flows, and smart-contract mechanics that do not represent genuine economic transactions. This is a different lens than the McKinsey real-payment analysis, which focuses on identifiable payment categories; the Visa/Allium methodology is more conservative on exclusions but covers a broader set of economic activity.
Visa Adjusted Stablecoin Volume (H1 2026)
| Period | Adjusted Volume | Source |
|---|---|---|
| June 2026 | $1.79 trillion (record) | Visa Onchain Analytics / KuCoin |
| May 2026 | $1.1 trillion | Visa Onchain Analytics |
| H1 2026 total | $8.82 trillion | Visa Onchain Analytics / KuCoin |
| Full year 2024 | $5.8 trillion | Visa Onchain Analytics |
| H1 2026 YoY growth | +125% (June vs June 2025) | Visa Onchain Analytics |
Source: Visa Onchain Analytics Dashboard powered by Allium Labs, as reported by KuCoin research, July 2026.
By this measure, the first six months of 2026 already exceeded all of 2024. USDC accounted for approximately 70% of H1 2026 adjusted volume (versus under 10% in 2020 and 45% in 2022), while USDT’s share fell from near-total dominance to roughly 25%.
Stablecoin Payments vs. Legacy Rails: The Honest Comparison
| Dimension | SWIFT correspondent | Card network | Stablecoin (USDC/USDT on Solana) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Settlement finality | 1–3 business days | T+1 (issuer to acquirer) | ~400ms |
| Hours of operation | Business hours, weekdays | 24/7 auth; batch settlement | 24/7/365 |
| Typical all-in cost (B2B cross-border) | 2–7% | 1.5–3% + FX | 0.1–0.5% |
| Travel Rule threshold (AML) | All transfers | N/A | $1,000 in most jurisdictions |
| Chargeback / reversal | Available | Available | Not available (final) |
| Regulatory status (US, as of Jul 2025) | Fully regulated | Fully regulated | GENIUS Act framework operative |
| Regulatory status (EU, as of Dec 2024) | Fully regulated | Fully regulated | MiCA compliant required |
Sources: AlphaPoint cross-border payments guide, June 2026; ECO.com stablecoin vs. SWIFT analysis, July 2026; World Bank RPW Q3 2025; Visa investor relations.
The finality point is worth dwelling on. Stablecoin transactions on the blockchain are irreversible. That eliminates chargeback fraud — which costs high-risk merchants as much as 18% of annual profit per PayRam’s analysis — but it also eliminates consumer protection. The settlement irreversibility that makes stablecoins fast for treasury is a risk for consumer-facing use cases. This is why C2C penetration leads all segments at 0.37% (users accepting this tradeoff in high-inflation or high-remittance-cost corridors), while B2C remains the laggard at 0.01%.
FAQ
What is the actual size of the stablecoin payment market in 2026?
The real stablecoin payment market — excluding trading, internal exchange flows, and automated blockchain mechanics — ran at $390 billion in 2025 based on annualized December 2025 data, per McKinsey & Company and Artemis Analytics (February 2026). This is roughly 0.02% of global payment volumes. The raw on-chain volume figure commonly cited ($28–35 trillion) includes activity that is not economically equivalent to a payment.
Which region generates the most stablecoin payment volume?
Asia originated approximately $245 billion (62.8%) of real stablecoin payments in 2025, driven almost exclusively by Singapore, Hong Kong, and Japan, according to McKinsey/Artemis Analytics. North America was second at $95 billion, Europe third at $50 billion. Latin America and Africa each contributed less than $1 billion despite representing massive remittance opportunity.
What is the GENIUS Act and why does it matter for stablecoin payments?
The GENIUS Act (Pub. L. 119-27), signed July 18, 2025, created the first federal regulatory framework for U.S. payment stablecoins, requiring 1:1 reserve backing, monthly audits, and federal or state licensing. According to an IMF event-study analysis, financial markets priced this legislation as an 18% reduction in incumbent payment firms’ market value (~$300 billion), the strongest market signal yet that institutional capital views stablecoin rails as a genuine threat to traditional payment networks.
How much cheaper are stablecoin payments than traditional wire transfers?
The World Bank Remittance Prices Worldwide database (Q3 2025) puts the global average cost of sending $200 internationally at 6.36%, with banks averaging 14.99%. Stablecoin on-chain transfer costs in established corridors run 0.1–0.5%, making them roughly 12 to 60 times cheaper for small-to-medium transfer amounts. For large institutional B2B transfers where fixed wire fees are small relative to principal, the cost advantage narrows, but settlement speed (minutes versus days) and 24/7 availability remain structural advantages.
What are USDT and USDC’s respective market shares?
By total circulating supply, Tether (USDT) held approximately 59% of the stablecoin market (~$186–188 billion) and Circle (USDC) approximately 24% (~$73–75 billion) as of H1 2026, per DefiLlama data. By adjusted transaction volume, however, USDC led with ~70% of Visa Onchain Analytics-tracked volume in H1 2026 versus ~25% for USDT, reflecting USDC’s stronger position with regulated U.S. institutions.
How fast is Visa’s stablecoin settlement program growing?
Visa’s stablecoin settlement program reached a $3.5 billion annualized run rate as of November 30, 2025 (per Visa’s official December 2025 press release), then doubled to $7 billion annualized by April 2026 after expanding to nine blockchains. That 100% growth in five months is the fastest institutional payment settlement infrastructure buildout Visa has reported in its public disclosures.
What are the risks of stablecoin payments?
Stablecoin payments carry settlement finality risk (transactions are irreversible, eliminating consumer chargeback protection), reserve quality risk (USDT’s inclusion of Bitcoin in its reserves prompted an S&P Global “weak” stability rating in November 2025), on/off-ramp friction (converting fiat to stablecoins and back requires regulated exchanges, which are unavailable or restricted in many markets), key custody risk, and corridor-level regulatory risk. MiCA’s removal of non-compliant stablecoins from EU platforms in 2024 demonstrated that regulatory changes can eliminate payment corridors quickly.
What is the UN SDG target for remittance costs?
The UN Sustainable Development Goal 10.c commits to reducing global average remittance costs to 3% or below by 2030. As of Q3 2025, the global average sits at 6.36% — more than double the target. Stablecoin rails can reach sub-1% in established corridors today, but achieving the SDG requires on-ramp and off-ramp infrastructure in the receiving countries (banks, mobile money, cash agents), not just cheap blockchain settlement. The last mile remains the constraint.
Is Mastercard also supporting stablecoin settlement?
Yes. Mastercard announced settlement support for regulated stablecoins — including USDC, PYUSD, and RLUSD — in June 2026, including intraday and weekend settlement cycles, approximately two months after Visa’s $7 billion annualized volume milestone. Both networks are converging on stablecoin settlement as a product feature for their acquirer and issuer partners.
Methodology
Data Collection
Axis Intelligence Research assembled this dataset through direct fetch and review of primary sources during a production session in July 2026. Sources include:
- McKinsey & Company / Artemis Analytics — “Stablecoins in Payments: What the Raw Transaction Numbers Miss,” February 18, 2026, fetched directly from mckinsey.com. This is the primary source for all real-payment volume figures, B2B/C2C/C2B/B2C breakdowns, and geographic distribution.
- World Bank Remittance Prices Worldwide — Issue 54, September 2025 (Q3 2025 data), fetched as PDF from remittanceprices.worldbank.org. Primary source for all traditional remittance cost figures.
- Visa investor relations and press releases — Official December 16, 2025 press release for November 2025 run-rate figure; CoinDesk (April 29, 2026) for April 2026 $7 billion figure.
- Visa Onchain Analytics / Allium Labs — H1 2026 adjusted stablecoin volume, as reported by KuCoin research (July 2026).
- IMF Working Paper WP/26/52 — “Stablecoins and the Future of Payments: Evidence from Financial Markets,” 2026, for the $300 billion / 18% incumbent market value impact estimate.
- Juniper Research press release — April 27, 2026, via Globe Newswire, for the $5 trillion B2B cross-border projection to 2035.
- Congress.gov / Paul Hastings — GENIUS Act legislative history and provisions (S.1582, 119th Congress).
- DefiLlama stablecoins dashboard — On-chain market cap and issuer share, as cited in CoinLaw (June 21, 2026) and CoinsPaid Media (H1 2026 analysis).
- Citi Institute — “Stablecoins 2030” report, September 2025, for supply projections.
- Stablecoin Insider — January 2026, for Visa card-linked and B2B monthly volume figures, sourcing back to Artemis Analytics data.
Axis Intelligence Research Original Metric
Real-Payment Penetration Rate (RPPR): A proprietary metric calculated by Axis Intelligence Research as (Verified Real-Economy Payment Volume ÷ Total Reported On-Chain Transfer Volume) × 100. For 2025: $390 billion ÷ $35 trillion × 100 = 1.11%. Both inputs sourced from McKinsey/Artemis Analytics (February 2026). The denominator is stated as $35 trillion by McKinsey in the same report that derives the $390 billion real-payment figure, making this internally consistent. The RPPR baseline reading is 1.11% for 2025. Future readings will track whether stablecoin networks are converting trading liquidity into payment utility over time.
Potential fee-savings estimate: Axis Intelligence Research applied World Bank Q3 2025 global average remittance cost (6.36%) and a 0.3% stablecoin midpoint cost (range: 0.1–0.5%) to the World Bank’s 2024 global remittance total ($905 billion). Formula: $905B × (6.36% − 0.3%) = $905B × 6.06% = $54.8 billion. This is a theoretical maximum, not a forecast. It assumes universal on-ramp and off-ramp access, no slippage, no fiat conversion costs, and no regulatory restrictions — conditions that do not exist in most remittance corridors.
Limitations
- Real-payment volume estimates are annualized from December 2025 data only; month-to-month variation is not captured.
- Geographic breakdown (Asia 62.8%, North America 24.4%, Europe 12.8%) is sourced from McKinsey/Artemis and reflects institutional and retail addresses associated with those regions, with known limitations in attributing on-chain flows to geography.
- Market cap figures vary by source and date; readers should note the specific retrieval dates in the CSV.
- All supply projection figures ($1.9T–$4T by 2030) are financial institution forecasts, not Axis Intelligence Research estimates, and carry the full uncertainty of multi-year market forecasting.
- The RPPR metric is a baseline reading; the methodology will be refined in subsequent annual readings as more granular real-payment data becomes available.
About This Dataset
Contents: 40 rows covering stablecoin market cap, payment volumes by use case and geography, regulatory milestones, Visa settlement data, traditional remittance cost benchmarks, and market projections. Spans 2023–2035 where sourced.
Creator and publisher: Axis Intelligence Research
License: CC BY 4.0 — Axis Intelligence Research, Stablecoin Payment Statistics 2026
Citation format:
APA: Axis Intelligence Research. (2026). Stablecoin payment statistics 2026. axis-intelligence.com/stablecoin-payment-statistics/
MLA: Axis Intelligence Research. “Stablecoin Payment Statistics 2026.” Axis Intelligence Research, 2026, axis-intelligence.com/stablecoin-payment-statistics/.
Chicago: Axis Intelligence Research. “Stablecoin Payment Statistics 2026.” Axis Intelligence Research. 2026. axis-intelligence.com/stablecoin-payment-statistics/.
Last updated: July 2026
