European Banking Statistics 2026
By Axis Intelligence Research
Co-author: Sarah Davis (Fintech and financial markets, commentary) | Last updated: September 6, 2026 | License: CC BY 4.0
Europe’s supervised banking sector held EUR 29.1 trillion in total assets at 31 December 2025, earned a 10.4% return on equity, and carried a 16.3% CET1 ratio. Yet a separate official count of EU credit institutions puts the asset base at EUR 45.1 trillion. Both numbers are correct. This page explains why, and what the gap hides.
Quick Answer
According to Axis Intelligence Research, the EU/EEA supervised banking sector reported EUR 29.1 trillion in total assets and a 10.4% return on equity at December 2025, against EUR 10.2 trillion of risk-weighted assets. BNP Paribas is Europe’s largest bank at USD 3.279 trillion in assets. Axis Intelligence Research finds the two official European asset totals differ by EUR 16 trillion, or 35.5%, on perimeter alone.
Key Findings
- According to Axis Intelligence Research, EU/EEA supervised banks held EUR 29.1 trillion in total assets and EUR 27.1 trillion in total liabilities at the end of 2025, with a CET1 ratio of 16.3% on a transitional CRR3 basis.
- Axis Intelligence Research finds that the two most-cited European bank asset totals, the EBA’s EUR 29.1 trillion supervised sample and the ECB-based EUR 45.1 trillion EU27 credit institution figure, diverge by EUR 16 trillion, a 35.5% gap driven entirely by consolidation basis and institutional perimeter rather than by growth.
- The Axis Balance Sheet Drift Index (BSDI) reads 107.5 for December 2025 against a December 2024 baseline of 100, meaning the European banking balance sheet moved 7.5% further from its classic deposit-and-loan core in twelve months.
- According to Axis Intelligence Research, sovereign debt now equals 232% of EU/EEA banks’ Common Equity Tier 1 capital, up from 206% a year earlier, after holdings rose from EUR 3.65 trillion to EUR 4.18 trillion during 2025.
- Axis Intelligence Research calculates that the average loss per newly reported ICT risk event at EU/EEA banks reached EUR 28,077 in 2025, roughly double the EUR 14,130 recorded in 2024, even though the number of reported events fell from about 46,000 to about 26,000.
How Big Is the European Banking Sector in 2026?
There is no single answer, and anyone who gives you one without stating a perimeter is guessing.
The European Banking Authority reported total assets of EUR 29.1 trillion for its supervised EU/EEA sample at 31 December 2025, unchanged across the second half of the year. Total liabilities stood at EUR 27.1 trillion at September 2025 and around EUR 27 trillion at year-end after growing 3% over 2025. Risk-weighted assets reached EUR 10.2 trillion, up just over 1% on the year.
The European Banking Federation, building on ECB data, counts EUR 45.1 trillion of total assets across EU27 credit institutions for 2024, the seventh consecutive year of expansion. The same publication counts 4,834 credit institutions, down 1.9% year on year, operating about 126,952 branches, down 2.5%.
Headline sector metrics at a glance
| Metric | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets, EBA supervised sample | EUR 29.1tn | Dec 2025 | EBA Q4 2025 Risk Dashboard |
| Total assets, asset-encumbrance reporting | ~EUR 31tn | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Total assets, EU27 credit institutions | EUR 45.1tn | Dec 2024 | EBF Facts and Figures 2025 |
| Total liabilities | EUR 27.1tn | Sep 2025 | EBA Q3 2025 Risk Dashboard |
| Risk-weighted assets | EUR 10.2tn | Dec 2025 | EBA Q4 2025 Risk Dashboard |
| Credit institutions (EU27) | 4,834 | Dec 2024 | EBF Facts and Figures 2025 |
| Branches (EU27) | 126,952 | Dec 2024 | EBF Facts and Figures 2025 |
| Loans outstanding (EU27) | EUR 26.84tn | Dec 2024 | EBF Facts and Figures 2025 |
| Customer deposits (EU27) | EUR 17.05tn | Dec 2024 | EBF Facts and Figures 2025 |
Note the third row in the EBA’s own reporting. The Spring 2026 Risk Assessment Report puts total assets at approximately EUR 31 trillion at end-2025 when measured on the asset-encumbrance reporting basis, against EUR 29.1 trillion in the Risk Dashboard. Same supervisor, same year, two numbers, because the encumbrance return includes collateral received that can be re-encumbered.
Sarah Davis: Take rate, spread, basis points, all of it means nothing until you know what the denominator is. Three official European asset totals sit between EUR 29.1 trillion and EUR 45.1 trillion and every one of them is accurate inside its own reporting boundary. When a headline says European banks control X trillion, the honest follow-up question is which X, counted by whom, on what consolidation basis. Most coverage skips it. That is where citation errors are born.
Which Are the Largest Banks in Europe by Assets?
S&P Global Market Intelligence published its 2026 ranking on 24 April 2026, using assets as of 31 December 2025 adjusted on a best-efforts basis for pending and completed M&A. BNP Paribas overtook HSBC at the top.
Europe’s largest banks by total assets, December 2025
| Rank | Bank | Country | Total assets (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BNP Paribas | France | 3.279tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 2 | HSBC Holdings | UK | 3.212tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 3 | Crédit Agricole Group | France | 3.149tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 4 | Banco Santander | Spain | ~2.252tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 5 | Barclays | UK | 2.078tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 14 | UniCredit | Italy | 1.022tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 15 | BBVA | Spain | 1.006tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 18 | Sberbank | Russia | 870.03bn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 30 | VTB Bank | Russia | 466.33bn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| 44 | Banco Sabadell | Spain | 227.17bn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
According to Axis Intelligence Research, the top three alone hold USD 9.64 trillion and the top five hold USD 13.97 trillion, computed by summing the S&P Global Market Intelligence figures above.
The reporting gap nobody prices in
HSBC’s own Annual Results 2025 state assets of USD 3,233 billion at 31 December 2025. The S&P Global ranking places HSBC at USD 3,212 billion. Axis Intelligence Research calculates the difference at USD 21 billion, or 0.65% of the company-reported figure, arising from the ranking’s pro-forma treatment of announced transactions.
USD 21 billion is not a rounding error. It is larger than the total assets of many licensed European banks. We publish both figures rather than averaging them, because averaging two differently-constructed numbers produces a third number that describes nothing.
Where the assets sit by country
| Country | Banks in top 50 | Combined assets (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| France | 6 | 12.522tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| UK | 6 | 8.950tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| Spain | 4 | 4.265tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| Germany | 5 | 3.887tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
| Italy | 5 | 2.915tn | S&P Global Market Intelligence |
Axis Intelligence Research finds that these five countries account for 26 of Europe’s 50 largest banks and USD 32.54 trillion in combined assets. All six French banks sit inside the top 20, a concentration no other European banking system matches.
Why Do Europe’s Two Official Asset Totals Differ by EUR 16 Trillion?
This is the single most frequently misquoted figure in European banking coverage, so here is the arithmetic, disclosed in full.
Formula: Perimeter gap = EBF/ECB EU27 credit institution assets − EBA supervised sample assets Inputs: EUR 45.1 trillion (EBF Facts and Figures 2025, EU27 credit institutions, December 2024) and EUR 29.1 trillion (EBA Q4 2025 Risk Dashboard, supervised EU/EEA sample, December 2025) Result: EUR 16.0 trillion, equal to 35.5% of the larger figure
Three drivers explain it. The EBA sample covers the largest EU/EEA institutions at the highest level of consolidation, so intra-group positions net out. The EBF/ECB count covers every authorised credit institution in the EU27, including thousands of cooperative and savings banks whose balance sheets never appear separately in supervisory aggregates. And the reference dates differ by a year.
The scope of this comparison: it measures a definitional distance between two reporting frameworks at their most recent published dates. It is not a growth rate, and it should never be quoted as one.
Sarah Davis: Every quarter, some piece of coverage takes the ECB-derived number for the size of the sector and the EBA number for profitability and puts them in the same sentence. That produces a return on assets that is wrong by roughly a third. The fee always hides in the denominator.
What Is the Axis Balance Sheet Drift Index Telling Us?
Europe’s banks are still funded by deposits and still lend. What has changed is how much of the balance sheet now sits outside that core, in sovereign portfolios, in exposures to non-bank financial institutions, in encumbered collateral, and in counterparties outside the EEA. No published index tracks that movement as a single number, so Axis Intelligence Research built one.
Balance Sheet Drift Index (BSDI): definition and formula
BSDI measures how far the aggregate EU/EEA banking balance sheet has moved away from classic deposit-funded domestic lending, expressed as an index against a December 2024 baseline of 100.
Formula: BSDI = (S + N + E + X) / 4, each component indexed to its December 2024 reading = 100, equally weighted at 25%.
| Component | December 2024 | December 2025 | Index reading | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| S. Sovereign intensity (sovereign exposures / CET1) | 206% | 232% | 112.6 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| N. NBFI linkage (other financial corporation exposures) | base | +10.4% YoY | 110.4 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| E. Asset encumbrance ratio | 24.1% | 24.7% | 102.5 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| X. Non-EEA exposures | base | +4.3% YoY | 104.3 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| BSDI | 100.0 | 107.5 | Axis Intelligence Research |
Computation: (112.6 + 110.4 + 102.5 + 104.3) / 4 = 107.45, rounded to 107.5.
According to Axis Intelligence Research, the December 2025 BSDI reading of 107.5 is the baseline reading of this index. Sovereign intensity contributed the largest single push, adding 12.6 index points on its own.
What would move it back toward 100: a reduction in bank sovereign holdings as fiscal issuance normalises, a slowdown in lending to non-bank financial institutions, or a shift in encumbrance back toward loan collateral and away from debt securities. What the index does not capture: the credit quality of any of these exposures, or hedging positions that offset market risk on sovereign portfolios.
The sovereign question underneath the index
EU/EEA banks’ sovereign exposures rose from around EUR 3.65 trillion at end-2024 to EUR 4.18 trillion at end-2025, an increase of roughly 14.6%. Of that stock, 44.9% is domestic, 30.8% is other EEA sovereigns and 24.2% is third countries. Just under 60% is held at amortised cost, with 17.1% at fair value through profit and loss and 20.2% through other comprehensive income, meaning more than a third reprices with the market.
Unrealised losses on amortised-cost bond portfolios stood at around EUR 25 billion, equal to roughly 170 basis points of Tier 1 capital.
Sarah Davis: Banks bought sovereign paper because it yields, it is liquid, and it feeds the replicating portfolios that hold net interest income up when policy rates fall. That is a rational trade. It is also a trade that converts fiscal risk into bank capital risk through a channel that does not appear in any loan-loss provision. Watch the amortised-cost bucket, not the headline holding.
How Profitable Are European Banks Right Now?
Return on equity held in double digits at 10.4% for 2025, marginally below the 10.5% recorded in 2024. Return on assets was 0.71%, against 0.73% a year earlier. On the funding-plan basis used in the Spring 2026 Risk Assessment Report, the weighted average RoE was 9.9%.
The net interest margin bottomed. After falling from 1.66% in December 2024 to 1.58% in September 2025, it recovered to 1.6% by December 2025. The cost-to-income ratio reached 52.3% in September 2025 before rising in the fourth quarter to its highest level since March 2023.
Bank profitability projections and the cost assumption inside them
| Year | RoE (funding plan) | RoE if costs held flat | Net interest margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 actual | 9.9% | n/a | 1.56% |
| 2026 | 9.8% | n/a | 1.55% |
| 2027 | 10.3% | 9.9% | n/a |
| 2028 | 11.2% | 10.1% | 1.63% |
Source: EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026, funding plan data and EBA sensitivity.
That second column matters more than the first. The EBA ran its own sensitivity: hold staff and administrative expenses constant as a share of equity, and the projected 2028 RoE of 11.2% becomes 10.1%. Roughly the entire projected profitability improvement is a cost assumption, not a revenue one.
We disagree with the sector’s cost trajectory, and the EBA has effectively said the same thing. Banks project administrative expenses falling around 50 basis points between 2026 and 2028, while ICT costs already account for 32.1% of other administrative expenses, up from 31.2% in 2024. In the same period, 72% of banks identified core banking and payment systems as a major source of ICT spending. Legacy core replacement does not get cheaper on a three-year view.
Bank-level 2025 results
| Bank | Headline 2025 result | RoTE | CET1 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSBC Holdings | PBT USD 36.6bn excl. notable items; reported PBT USD 29.9bn | 17.2% excl. notable items (13.3% reported) | 14.9% | HSBC Annual Results 2025 |
| Banco Santander | Attributable profit EUR 14,101m, up 12% | 16.3% post-AT1 | 13.5% | Santander 2025 results |
| UniCredit | Stated net profit EUR 10.9bn, up 12.3% | 19.2% | 14.7% | UniCredit 4Q25 and FY25 results |
| Deutsche Bank | Net revenues EUR 32.1bn, up 7% | not stated here | 14.2% | Deutsche Bank FY2025 results |
| BNP Paribas | see note below | not stated here | 13.0% (June 2026) | BNP Paribas investor relations |
Santander reached 180 million customers for the first time, adding eight million during the year, on EUR 62.4 billion of revenue and a 1.15% cost of risk. UniCredit reported EUR 10.6 billion excluding EUR 336 million of deferred tax asset write-ups, and distributed EUR 9.5 billion to shareholders including EUR 4.75 billion in cash dividends. Deutsche Bank lifted its CET1 ratio to 14.2% from 13.8%, helped by cumulative capital-efficiency benefits worth EUR 31 billion of risk-weighted assets.
HSBC’s numbers show why the “record profit” framing needs care. Profit before tax excluding notable items rose 7% to USD 36.6 billion. Reported profit before tax fell 7% to USD 29.9 billion, after USD 6.7 billion of notable items including USD 2.1 billion on Bank of Communications, USD 1.5 billion of reserve recycling on the French loan portfolio sale, USD 1.4 billion of legal provisions and USD 1.0 billion of restructuring costs. Both figures are HSBC’s own. Coverage that quotes only the first is quoting a management view of the year, not the audited one.
On BNP Paribas: a full-year 2025 net income Group share figure could not be confirmed against the bank’s own fourth-quarter press release during this production session. Wire coverage circulated figures we did not verify against the primary document, so no value is published here. The row appears in the dataset marked as retracted, and will be filled from the BNP Paribas 2025 Universal Registration Document. BNP’s own investor relations page confirms a 13.0% CET1 ratio at 30 June 2026 and second-quarter 2026 net income Group share of EUR 4,345 million, up 33.4% year on year, with assets under management of EUR 2,590 billion after the AXA IM consolidation. Axis Intelligence Research calculates the total 2025 dividend at EUR 5.16 per eligible share, combining the EUR 2.59 interim paid on 30 September 2025 with the EUR 2.57 final proposed for the 12 May 2026 general meeting.
How Much Do Europeans Hold in Bank Deposits?
Deposits from businesses and households across the EU27 reached EUR 17.05 trillion at the end of 2024, growing 4.55% on the year, with household deposits up 3.90% and business deposits up 3.28%.
Inside the EBA’s supervised perimeter, deposits dominate the funding mix. Household deposits represent around 30% of total liabilities, corporate deposits around 17%, and deposits from other financial corporations, a category that includes private credit funds and other non-bank financial institutions, around 7%.
Funding and liquidity structure
| Metric | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Household deposits, share of liabilities | ~30% | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| NFC deposits, share of liabilities | ~17% | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Other financial corporation deposits | ~7% | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Loans-to-deposits ratio (households and NFCs) | 105.6% | Sep 2025 | EBA Q3 2025 Risk Dashboard |
| Liquidity coverage ratio | 160% | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Net stable funding ratio | 127% | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Asset encumbrance ratio | 24.7% | Dec 2025 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
Banks plan to grow household and corporate deposits at around 4% a year through 2028. The EBA calls those assumptions relatively ambitious against expected GDP growth of 0.9% in the euro area and 1.1% in the EU for 2026. If bond issuance falls short of plan, competition for deposits is the mechanism that closes the gap, and deposit pricing is what pays for it.
At the bank level, HSBC grew customer accounts by USD 131.9 billion on a reported basis in 2025, or USD 67.6 billion in constant currency. Santander reported customer deposits of EUR 1,133,762 million at 30 June 2026, up 12.5% year on year, against loans to customers of EUR 1,149,162 million.
Where Is Credit Risk Concentrated in European Loan Books?
Non-performing loans stood at EUR 370 billion at December 2025, or 1.82% of total loans, close to the lowest level recorded under the harmonised definition. The aggregate hides real segment divergence.
NPL ratios by segment, December 2025
| Segment | NPL ratio | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Consumer credit | ~5.4% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| SMEs | 4.4% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Commercial real estate | 4.1% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Non-financial corporates (total) | 3.3% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Large corporates | ~2.5% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Households (total) | 2.0% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Residential mortgages | 1.3% | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
Consumer credit carries an NPL ratio more than four times the mortgage book, and it was also the fastest-growing segment in 2025 at 4.7% year on year. SME lending grew 2.9% and total household and corporate lending 2.7%. Stage 2 exposures across households and corporates fell to 10.5%, and cost of risk reached 0.47% in September 2025, the lowest since the third quarter of 2023.
Country divergence sits underneath. German and French banks saw NPL volumes rise 6% and 4% respectively during 2025, while Spanish and Italian banks recorded drops of 8% and 12%, with NPL ratios in all four countries broadly unchanged because loan books moved alongside.
Sarah Davis: A 1.82% headline NPL ratio in an economy heading for 0.9% growth and 3.0% inflation is a number worth interrogating rather than celebrating. Consumer credit at 5.4% is the segment where household energy costs land first. The mortgage book at 1.3% is where they land last.
How Consolidated Is European Banking, and What Is M&A Doing to It?
European banking M&A hit a record in 2025. Ten transactions worth more than EUR 1 billion each targeted banks and asset managers, with an aggregate value of EUR 45.77 billion.
The transactions reshaped the ranking directly. Santander acquired TSB Banking Group for USD 3.97 billion and Webster Financial for USD 12.18 billion, its largest deal in more than fifteen years, lifting group assets to roughly USD 2.252 trillion. Erste Group bought most of Santander’s Polish operations for EUR 7 billion. Groupe BPCE purchased Novo Banco for EUR 6.4 billion. Raiffeisen Bank International agreed to acquire BBVA’s Romanian unit for EUR 591 million. UniCredit offered EUR 35 billion for Commerzbank after abandoning a EUR 15 billion bid for Banco BPM.
Against that, the institution count keeps falling. The EU27 lost 93 credit institutions in 2024 alone and 2.5% of its branches.
Concentration is not the same as consolidation, though. Twenty of the fifty largest banks ranked lower in 2026 than a year earlier, eleven ranked higher, one entered the list and the rest held position. Scale is changing hands more than it is accumulating.
How Much Capital Do European Banks Hold, and What Changes Under CRR3?
The CET1 ratio stood at 16.3% at December 2025 on a transitional CRR3 basis, stable through the year. Headroom above the overall capital requirement and Pillar 2 Guidance has held close to 500 basis points for twelve months.
The forward view is where the interesting number sits. Under fully-loaded CRR3 implementation with the output floor fully phased in, the EBA’s CRR3/CRD6 dashboard projects an average CET1 ratio of around 15.3%, reflecting an average 4.7% relative increase in Tier 1 minimum required capital. The count of institutions bound by the output floor rises from 2 at December 2025 to 33 under full implementation. Under a static balance sheet assumption, no capital shortfalls emerge before 2030.
Two institutions today, thirty-three at the end state. That is the single clearest signal in European bank capital data right now, and it barely gets quoted.
What Operational and Cyber Losses Are European Banks Reporting?
EU/EEA banks reported approximately 3.9 million operational risk loss events in 2025, 25% more than in 2024. Total materialised losses fell 5% to EUR 15.2 billion. Axis Intelligence Research calculates the average loss per event at EUR 3,897, computed as EUR 15.2 billion divided by 3.9 million events.
The ICT picture runs the other way, and it is the more revealing series.
| Metric | 2024 | 2025 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Newly reported ICT loss events | ~46,000 | ~26,000 | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Total ICT losses | EUR 0.65bn | EUR 0.73bn | EBA Risk Assessment Report Spring 2026 |
| Average loss per ICT event | EUR 14,130 | EUR 28,077 | Axis Intelligence Research |
Formula: average ICT loss per event = total ICT losses / newly reported ICT loss events. For 2025: EUR 0.73 billion / 26,000 = EUR 28,077. For 2024: EUR 0.65 billion / 46,000 = EUR 14,130. The ratio is 1.99, a 99% increase.
Fewer incidents, roughly twice the damage each. Operational risk now accounts for 13.4% of total capital requirements, up from 10.6% in December 2024. The EBA has received over 18,000 DORA incident reports between January 2025 and March 2026, with distributed denial of service, identity theft and data exfiltration the most common attack techniques reported by credit institutions.
On the defensive side, 56% of banks reported no cyberattack in the first half of 2026 that resulted or could have resulted in a major ICT-related incident, up from 49% in the second half of 2025. The share hit by eleven or more attacks rose to 11% from 7%. Attacks are concentrating on fewer targets.
For deeper coverage of how banks are deploying artificial intelligence against exactly these exposures, see our AI in banking statistics analysis.
Which Non-Bank Exposures Should Analysts Watch?
Exposures to non-bank financial institutions, reported as other financial corporations, grew 10.4% year on year and now reach around 10% of total assets. Within that, exposure specifically to private credit funds and related asset managers reached nearly EUR 150 billion in June 2025, spread across 79 banks in 13 Member States and averaging 0.6% of total assets.
Non-EEA exposures stand at EUR 4.9 trillion, up 4.3% year on year. Axis Intelligence Research calculates this at 16.8% of the EUR 29.1 trillion asset base, consistent with the EBA’s own description of nearly 17%. Around EUR 1.5 trillion faces US counterparties and approximately EUR 1 trillion the UK. Direct exposures to Middle Eastern counterparties totalled EUR 132 billion at end-2025, under 0.5% of total assets.
Sarah Davis: Private credit at 0.6% of assets is not a systemic number. The interesting figure is the eleven banks with more than 2% of their assets exposed, and the fact that half of the exposures have no identified country of domicile in the reporting. Concentration and opacity, in the same dataset, is the combination that has historically preceded surprises.
Methodology
Collection. Every figure on this page was retrieved from a primary source document during a production session on September 6, 2026, and logged with its URL and retrieval date in the accompanying dataset. Sector aggregates come from the European Banking Authority’s Q1 2025 through Q4 2025 Risk Dashboard press releases and the Spring 2026 Risk Assessment Report published 18 June 2026. EU27 structural data comes from the European Banking Federation’s Banking in Europe Facts and Figures 2025, published 18 December 2025 on 2024 ECB data. Bank rankings come from S&P Global Market Intelligence’s Europe’s 50 largest banks by assets 2026, published 24 April 2026. Bank-level results come from each institution’s own results release.
Currency. Sector aggregates are reported in euro as published by the EBA and EBF. Bank rankings are reported in US dollars as published by S&P Global Market Intelligence, which converted non-dollar filers at period-end exchange rates. No Axis conversion has been applied between the two, and none should be inferred.
Axis calculations. Four categories of figure on this page are calculated by Axis Intelligence Research rather than observed: the EUR 16.0 trillion perimeter gap and its 35.5% share, the Balance Sheet Drift Index and its four components, the combined and country-level asset sums drawn from the S&P Global ranking, and the average operational and ICT loss per event. Each formula and each input appears inline at the point of use above and in the method_note column of the dataset.
Balance Sheet Drift Index. BSDI uses four EBA-sourced components, each indexed to its December 2024 reading of 100 and weighted equally at 25%: sovereign exposures relative to CET1 capital, year-on-year growth in other financial corporation exposures, the asset encumbrance ratio, and year-on-year growth in non-EEA exposures. The December 2025 reading of 107.5 is a baseline. Methodology will be versioned if components or weights change, and historical readings will not be silently restated. The index measures composition and direction of travel, not credit quality, hedging or capital adequacy.
Source discrepancies. Where primary sources disagree, both figures are published with an explanation. This applies to the EBA’s EUR 29.1 trillion Risk Dashboard total against approximately EUR 31 trillion on the asset-encumbrance reporting basis, to the EBA supervised perimeter against the EBF/ECB credit institution perimeter, and to HSBC’s company-reported USD 3,233 billion against S&P Global’s pro-forma adjusted USD 3,212 billion. None of these pairs has been averaged.
Retractions. One row in the dataset is marked retracted. A BNP Paribas full-year 2025 net income Group share figure could not be verified against the bank’s own press release during this session and has not been published.
About This Dataset
european-banking-statistics.csv contains every quantitative claim on this page as an individual row, with the metric, value, unit, geography, entity, as-of date, source organisation, source document, source URL, retrieval date, a primary-source flag, an Axis-calculated flag, a method note for every calculated row, and a data-type field distinguishing observed, calculated, projected and retracted values.
Coverage. EU/EEA and EU27 banking aggregates for December 2024 through June 2026, plus bank-level results for HSBC Holdings, Banco Santander, UniCredit, Deutsche Bank and BNP Paribas, plus the S&P Global Market Intelligence Europe top-50 asset ranking at 31 December 2025.
Licence. CC BY 4.0. Free to reuse, republish and redistribute with attribution.
Distribution. Hugging Face, Kaggle and GitHub.
Cite as: Axis Intelligence Research, European Banking Statistics 2026, 2026.
How to Cite This Research
APA Axis Intelligence Research. (2026). European banking statistics 2026: Assets, profits, deposits and the largest banks in Europe. https://axis-intelligence.com/european-banking-statistics/
MLA Axis Intelligence Research. “European Banking Statistics 2026: Assets, Profits, Deposits and the Largest Banks in Europe.” Axis Intelligence, 6 Sept. 2026, axis-intelligence.com/european-banking-statistics/.
Chicago Axis Intelligence Research. “European Banking Statistics 2026: Assets, Profits, Deposits and the Largest Banks in Europe.” Axis Intelligence. September 6, 2026. https://axis-intelligence.com/european-banking-statistics/.
Bank-Level Statistics Pages
Individual institution data lives on its own page. Published so far: Barclays statistics covering assets, revenue, profit and investment banking, and UBS statistics covering assets, wealth management, revenue and profit. Pages for BNP Paribas, HSBC, Crédit Agricole, Santander, Deutsche Bank, UniCredit, ING and Société Générale follow. The full library sits in the Axis statistics index.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the EUR 29.1 trillion EBA figure the same thing as the EUR 45.1 trillion ECB figure?
No, and they should never be used interchangeably. The EUR 29.1 trillion covers the EBA’s supervised sample of the largest EU/EEA institutions at the highest level of consolidation, where intra-group positions net out. The EUR 45.1 trillion covers every authorised credit institution in the EU27 on ECB data, including thousands of cooperative and savings banks. The gap of EUR 16.0 trillion, or 35.5%, is perimeter, not growth.
Why does BNP Paribas rank above HSBC when HSBC reports larger assets in dollars?
Because the two figures are constructed differently. HSBC reported USD 3,233 billion at 31 December 2025 in its own Annual Results 2025. S&P Global Market Intelligence ranked HSBC at USD 3,212 billion after adjusting on a best-efforts basis for pending and completed M&A, and placed BNP Paribas first at USD 3.279 trillion. The USD 21 billion difference in HSBC’s figure alone reflects that adjustment.
What does a 16.3% CET1 ratio mean in practice for a European bank’s depositors?
It means Common Equity Tier 1 capital equals 16.3% of risk-weighted assets, so EUR 10.2 trillion of risk-weighted exposures are backed by capital at that ratio. Supervisory headroom above the overall capital requirement and Pillar 2 Guidance has held close to 500 basis points. Under fully-loaded CRR3 the sector average is projected at around 15.3%, and the EBA finds no capital shortfalls emerging before 2030 under a static balance sheet.
How many European banks will be bound by the Basel output floor?
Two institutions were bound at December 2025. The EBA’s CRR3/CRD6 dashboard projects 33 under fully-loaded implementation, with an average 4.7% relative increase in Tier 1 minimum required capital across the sector.
Are European bank profits actually improving, or is the improvement a cost assumption?
Return on equity was 10.4% for 2025 against 10.5% in 2024, so recent history is flat. Banks project RoE rising to 11.2% by 2028. The EBA’s own sensitivity, holding staff and administrative expenses constant as a share of equity, produces 10.1% instead. Most of the projected improvement rests on cost reduction at a time when ICT expenses are 32.1% of other administrative costs and rising.
Which European loan segment carries the most credit risk right now?
Consumer credit, at an NPL ratio of around 5.4% at December 2025, followed by SME lending at 4.4% and commercial real estate at 4.1%. Residential mortgages sit at 1.3%. Consumer credit was also the fastest-growing segment in 2025 at 4.7% year on year.
Why are sovereign bond holdings treated as a risk for European banks?
Because sovereign exposures now equal 232% of CET1 capital, up from 206% a year earlier, after holdings rose from EUR 3.65 trillion to EUR 4.18 trillion. Just over a third of that stock is measured at fair value, so sovereign repricing feeds directly into capital. Unrealised losses on amortised-cost bond portfolios are around EUR 25 billion, roughly 170 basis points of Tier 1 capital.
Are cyber incidents at European banks getting better or worse?
Both, depending on the metric. Newly reported ICT loss events fell from about 46,000 in 2024 to about 26,000 in 2025, and the share of banks reporting no major-incident cyberattack rose to 56% in the first half of 2026. But total ICT losses rose from EUR 0.65 billion to EUR 0.73 billion, so Axis Intelligence Research calculates the average loss per reported event roughly doubled to EUR 28,077. Fewer incidents, heavier consequences.
How often is European banking data updated, and by whom?
The EBA publishes its Risk Dashboard quarterly, roughly three to five months after each quarter-end, now within the European Data Access Portal. It publishes a Risk Assessment Report twice a year, spring and autumn. The European Banking Federation publishes Facts and Figures annually in December on the prior year’s ECB data. S&P Global Market Intelligence publishes its European bank asset ranking annually in April. Individual banks report quarterly.
