Germany Data Center Statistics 2026
By Axis Intelligence Research
Co-author: James Porter (Networking & Infrastructure) | Last updated: September 10, 2026 | License: CC BY 4.0
Germany’s data centers reached 2,980 megawatts of installed IT connected load in 2025 and drew 21.3 terawatt-hours of electricity — 4.05% of national gross electricity consumption. Axis Intelligence Research finds a single federal state, Hessen, holds 36.9% of that capacity, and that named project announcements in three locations already exceed the entire installed base.
Quick Answer
Germany operates roughly 2,000 data centers above 100 kW, with a combined 2,980 MW of IT connected load as of 2025 and 21.3 TWh of annual electricity demand (Bitkom/Borderstep, November 2025). Axis Intelligence Research calculates that this equals 4.05% of Germany’s 526 TWh gross electricity consumption (Umweltbundesamt, May 2026). Since August 14, 2026, Germany has been the first country to run a public statutory data center register.
Key Findings
- Germany’s installed data center IT connected load reached 2,980 MW in 2025, up 9% year over year, according to the Bitkom/Borderstep study Rechenzentren in Deutschland — Update 2025, published November 10, 2025.
- Axis Intelligence Research finds that German data centers consumed 4.05% of national gross electricity in 2025, calculated from 21.3 TWh of sector demand against 526 TWh of gross consumption reported by the Umweltbundesamt.
- Axis Intelligence Research finds that five of Germany’s sixteen federal states hold 76.4% of installed data center capacity, with Hessen alone at 1,100 MW — 19.6 times the combined capacity of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Bremen and Saarland.
- Germany’s public data center register (Öffentliches RZReg) went live on August 14, 2026, built on mandatory annual filings from every operator above 300 kW of non-redundant rated connection load under §13 of the Energieeffizienzgesetz.
- Since April 1, 2026, grid connection applications from German data centers are ranked by project maturity rather than filing date under the four transmission operators’ Reifegradverfahren, ending first-come-first-served access to the high-voltage grid.
How Much Data Center Capacity Does Germany Have in 2026?
The number that matters is IT connected load, not floor area and not facility count. Germany’s stood at 2,980 MW at the end of 2025, a 9% increase over 2024, and Bitkom expects the 3,000 MW line to have been crossed in early 2026.
Underneath that headline the market splits three ways, and the split is where the story is.
| Segment | 2025 IT connected load (MW) | Share of total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cloud infrastructure | 1,450 | 48.7% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Classic enterprise data centers | 1,290 | 43.3% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Edge data centers | 240 | 8.1% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Total | 2,980 | 100% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
Shares calculated by Axis Intelligence Research from reported segment values. Source: Bitkom, “Rechenzentren in Deutschland: KI treibt das Wachstum”, November 10, 2025.
Cloud grew about 17% in 2025 to 1,450 MW. Classic enterprise capacity is in outright decline. Edge is the segment everybody quotes and the smallest one on the board — 240 MW, less than a tenth of the market, after a decade of being described as imminent.
How many data centers are there in Germany?
Roughly 2,000 facilities above 100 kW, of which 100 exceed 5 MW. Those hundred sites carry half the national capacity.
Axis Intelligence Research calculates what that means per site: the top 100 average 14.9 MW each, while the remaining ~1,900 facilities average 0.78 MW. Germany does not have a data center industry so much as it has a hundred real facilities and a long tail of server rooms with a badge on the door.
This is also why facility counts circulating for Germany — 529, 507, 345 — are not comparable to the 2,000 figure. Those counts come from commercial colocation directories and cover multi-tenant sites only. The Bitkom/Borderstep figure counts every installation above 100 kW, including enterprise and public-sector rooms. Both are defensible; neither is the other.
James Porter: Two thousand facilities, a hundred of which matter. If you are sizing a deployment against “Germany has 2,000 data centers,” you are sizing against a number that includes a rack cupboard in a Sparkasse basement. Check the connected load before you check the count.
What is Germany’s data center capacity forecast to 2030?
Bitkom projects installed capacity to pass 5,000 MW by 2030, roughly doubling against 2024. The Borderstep model published on the institute’s own facts-and-figures page puts the 2030 figure at about 4,850 MW. The two numbers come from the same modelling team, which suggests the 5,000 MW headline is a rounded threshold rather than a distinct forecast — worth knowing before you cite either as precise.
AI-specific capacity is the fastest-moving line: 530 MW in 2025 rising to a projected 2,020 MW in 2030, at which point Bitkom expects AI to represent 40% of German capacity.
One arithmetic note. Bitkom describes 2025 AI capacity as “around 15%” of the national total. Axis Intelligence Research calculates 530 MW against 2,980 MW as 17.8%. The gap is small and probably reflects rounding in the source’s own base, but anyone republishing the 15% figure alongside the 530 MW figure is republishing two numbers that do not divide.
Which German State Has the Most Data Center Capacity?
Hessen, and it is not close.
| Federal state (Bundesland) | Installed IT connected load 2025 (MW) | Share of national total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hessen (Frankfurt cluster) | 1,100 | 36.9% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Bayern | 420 | 14.1% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Nordrhein-Westfalen | 378 | 12.7% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Baden-Württemberg | 233 | 7.8% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Berlin | 146 | 4.9% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| All other states (residual) | 647 | 21.7% | Axis Intelligence Research calculation |
| Mecklenburg-Vorpommern | 20 | 0.7% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Bremen | 19 | 0.6% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Saarland | 17 | 0.6% | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
The residual row is calculated by Axis Intelligence Research as 2,980 MW minus the eight individually reported states, and covers the eight states Bitkom did not itemise. Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Bremen and Saarland are contained within the reported set, not within the residual. Shares calculated by Axis Intelligence Research.
Axis Intelligence Research finds that the top five states hold 2,277 MW, or 76.4% of installed German capacity, and that Hessen alone carries 19.6 times the combined 56 MW of the three smallest markets.
Why does Frankfurt hold a third of German capacity?
Because interconnection is not fungible. Frankfurt hosts DE-CIX, and DE-CIX Frankfurt set a peak traffic record of 19.636 Tbit/s on July 7, 2026 during the FIFA World Cup round-of-16 match between Argentina and Egypt — the same evening DE-CIX’s global platform hit 29.517 Tbit/s. Peak traffic at the Frankfurt exchange has risen 89% in five years, and DE-CIX now reports more than 4,600 connected networks and over 240 Tbit of connected customer capacity across its platform. Details are published in the operator’s press release archive.
Frankfurt is also growing fastest — about 14% a year, per Bitkom — and the ecosystem is spilling into Rheinland-Pfalz and Bayern rather than relocating.
Where is the announced pipeline going?
| Location | Announced IT connected load (MW) | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frankfurt (Hessen) | >1,800 | Planned projects | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Brandenburg | 888 | Planned projects | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Nierstein (Rheinland-Pfalz) | 480 | Single announced project | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Dummerstorf (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) | ~1,000 | Under public discussion | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
The Nierstein and Dummerstorf entries are the tell. Nierstein is a wine village of a few thousand people on the Rhine; Dummerstorf is farmland south of Rostock. A 480 MW project in the first and a 1,000 MW proposal in the second are not colocation decisions — they are grid-and-land decisions, taken specifically because Frankfurt’s substations are full.
How Much Pressure Is Germany’s Data Center Buildout Under? The Axis GDIP
Compilation is not analysis, so Axis Intelligence Research publishes a single reproducible figure for this market.
GDIP — German Data Centre Infrastructure Pressure
GDIP is the geometric mean of three pressure ratios, each measured against a reference value of 1.00. A reading of 1.00 describes a market where the announced pipeline equals the installed base, AI capacity is static, and capacity is spread evenly across the sixteen federal states. Higher readings mean more concentrated, faster-scaling, more infrastructure-constrained.
| Component | Formula | Inputs | Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|
| P1 — Pipeline pressure | Named announced MW ÷ installed MW | (1,800 + 888 + 480) ÷ 2,980 | 1.063 |
| P2 — AI scaling pressure | Projected 2030 AI MW ÷ 2025 AI MW | 2,020 ÷ 530 | 3.811 |
| P3 — Concentration pressure | Largest state share ÷ even-distribution share | 36.91% ÷ 6.25% | 5.906 |
GDIP = (1.063 × 3.811 × 5.906)^(1/3) = 2.88
Axis Intelligence Research finds a GDIP reading of 2.88 for Germany as of September 10, 2026 — the baseline reading for this metric.
Read plainly: Germany’s data center market is running at roughly 2.9 times the structural pressure of a balanced market of the same size. P3 does most of the lifting, which is the honest finding. Germany’s problem is not that it is building too fast in aggregate; it is that the buildout is aimed at one substation cluster in Hessen while thirteen states carry rounding-error capacity.
The Dummerstorf proposal is deliberately excluded from P1 because it is described as under discussion rather than announced. Including it would move P1 to 1.399 and GDIP to 3.15. Both figures are stated so the calculation can be checked either way.
Every input above is a row in the downloadable CSV with its source URL and retrieval date. GDIP is recomputed on each revision of this page; changes to components or weighting are disclosed in the methodology section.
How Much of Germany’s Electricity Do Data Centers Use?
German data centers consumed 21.3 TWh in 2025, up from 20 TWh in 2024 and 12 TWh in 2015 — a 77.5% increase over the decade, calculated by Axis Intelligence Research from the reported values.
Germany’s gross electricity consumption in 2025 was 526 TWh, with renewables at a record 55.1% share, per the Umweltbundesamt (updated May 15, 2026).
Axis Intelligence Research finds the German Data Centre Electricity Quotient for 2025 to be 4.05%, calculated as 21.3 TWh ÷ 526 TWh. For context on how that compares with neighbouring markets, see our Europe data center power demand analysis.
| Year | Data center electricity (TWh) | National gross consumption (TWh) | Share | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 12.0 | not stated in source | — | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| 2024 | 20.0 | not stated in source | — | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| 2025 | 21.3 | 526 | 4.05% | Bitkom/Borderstep; Umweltbundesamt |
The 2015 and 2024 shares are left blank rather than estimated. The Umweltbundesamt series is published as a chart without machine-readable annual values for those years, and Axis Intelligence Research does not interpolate.
What does the fleet-average efficiency actually look like?
Bitkom reports that roughly two-thirds of German data center electricity goes to IT — servers, storage, networking — with the remaining third to cooling, power distribution and building services.
Axis Intelligence Research draws two derived figures from that split, both labelled as estimates because the two-thirds ratio is itself approximate:
- Implied fleet-average PUE ≈ 1.50. Total draw divided by IT draw, where IT is two-thirds of total, gives 1.50 by construction. The precision is an artefact of the rounding in the source. The direction is not.
- Implied average IT load factor ≈ 54%. Estimated IT electricity of ~14.2 TWh against the theoretical maximum of 2,980 MW × 8,760 hours (26.1 TWh).
The first estimate is the one to sit with. A fleet averaging around 1.5 is a fleet sitting exactly on the existing-facility PUE ceiling that becomes binding on July 1, 2027 under §11 of the Energieeffizienzgesetz. Not comfortably under it. On it.
James Porter: A fleet average of 1.5 means half the estate is worse than 1.5. Those operators have nine months. Retrofit lead times for chilled-water plant in this market run past that, and the transformer queue is not sympathetic to your compliance calendar.
What does the 100% renewable obligation mean in volume terms?
Under §11 EnEfG, German data centers have had to source at least 50% renewable electricity on a balance-sheet basis since January 1, 2024, rising to 100% from January 1, 2027.
Axis Intelligence Research sizes that obligation: renewables supplied 55.1% of 526 TWh in 2025, or approximately 289.8 TWh. Data center demand of 21.3 TWh equals 7.35% of all renewable electricity consumed in Germany. From January 2027, the sector must contract the entirety of its draw from that pool — a pool that also has to absorb heat pumps, electric vehicles and industrial electrification. This is a procurement problem before it is a generation problem.
What Does Germany’s Public Data Center Register Actually Publish?
This is the part of the German market that has no equivalent anywhere else, and it is three weeks old at the time of writing.
On August 14, 2026, the Bundesstelle für Energieeffizienz brought the Öffentliches Rechenzentrumsregister (Öffentliches RZReg) online at rechenzentrumsregister.bund.de. The register rests on §13(1) of the Energieeffizienzgesetz, which obliges every operator of a data center with 300 kW or more of non-redundant rated electrical connection load to submit annual data to the federal government. It implements the European database requirement in Directive (EU) 2023/1791.
The public platform carries three sections beyond its landing page:
- Wissen — definitions of the technical terms and the legal basis.
- Statistik — an interactive map of Germany for comparing aggregated data.
- Jahresmeldungen — the individual annual filings of those operators who opted into publication via the register’s publication platform.
That last clause is the constraint every analyst needs to understand before treating the register as a census: reporting is mandatory, publication of the individual filing is not. The aggregate statistics reflect the full filing base; the facility-level filings reflect only operators who chose to be visible.
Reported fields include energy consumption, PUE, cooling system, waste heat use and planned efficiency measures. Operators providing services to third parties have had to attribute customer-assignable energy consumption since July 1, 2024.
Axis Intelligence Research has not published a filing count or an aggregate capacity figure from the register. The platform launched on August 14, 2026, does not expose a machine-readable export, and no aggregate release had been issued by the BfEE as of September 10, 2026. When one is, this page will carry it.
Why this matters beyond Germany. Every other national data center statistic in the world — including several in the tables above — is a modelled estimate, an operator disclosure or a commercial directory count. Germany now has a legal instrument that compels the underlying data. Once the first full reporting cycle closes, Germany will hold the only government-verified national data center dataset in existence. Our European capacity comparison by country will be reconciled against it when it publishes.
Primary sources: BfEE announcement, August 14, 2026 · BMWE RZReg landing page · Öffentliches RZReg
What PUE Must a German Data Center Meet in 2026 and 2027?
The Energieeffizienzgesetz applies from 300 kW of non-redundant rated connection load. Network nodes under §3(7) EnEfG are explicitly excluded. Installed connection load governs, not actual IT load.
| Facility category | Requirement | Effective date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| New build (operation from July 1, 2026) | Annual-average PUE ≤ 1.2 | From commissioning, achieved within two years | §11 EnEfG |
| Existing (operation before July 1, 2026) | Annual-average PUE ≤ 1.5 | July 1, 2027 | §11 EnEfG |
| Existing (operation before July 1, 2026) | Annual-average PUE ≤ 1.3 | July 1, 2030 | §11 EnEfG |
| New build from July 1, 2026 | Reused energy share ≥ 10% | At commissioning | §11 EnEfG |
| New build from July 1, 2027 | Reused energy share ≥ 15% | At commissioning | §11 EnEfG |
| New build from July 1, 2028 | Reused energy share ≥ 20% | At commissioning | §11 EnEfG |
| All in scope | Renewable electricity ≥ 50% (balance-sheet) | January 1, 2024 | §11 EnEfG |
| All in scope | Renewable electricity 100% (balance-sheet) | January 1, 2027 | §11 EnEfG |
Is the PUE requirement about to be relaxed?
A draft amendment — the Gesetz zur Beschleunigung der Umsetzung der Energieeffizienzrichtlinie — passed cabinet on June 24, 2026. It would keep the new-build ceiling at 1.2 while extending the achievement window, move the existing-facility path to 1.6 from July 2027 and 1.4 from July 2030, and lift the scope threshold from 300 kW to 500 kW. Germany missed the October 11, 2025 transposition deadline for the recast Energy Efficiency Directive and faces infringement proceedings, which is the pressure behind the redraft.
It is a draft. The figures in the compliance table above are current law. Anyone signing a colocation contract with a PUE covenant in it during autumn 2026 is negotiating against two texts at once, and only one of them binds.
Can a New Data Center Still Get a Grid Connection in Germany?
Not on the old terms. This is the single largest change to German data center development in 2026 and it has had almost no English-language coverage.
On April 1, 2026, the four transmission system operators — 50Hertz, Amprion, TenneT Germany and TransnetBW — started the Reifegradverfahren (“maturity procedure”) for high-voltage connection applications from large batteries, data centers, electrolysers and other large consumers. It replaces the Windhundprinzip: first come, first served is gone.
Applications are no longer processed individually on arrival. They are collected in fixed cycles with set deadlines and assessed together against grid planning for the whole cycle. Where demand exceeds available capacity, the most mature projects are offered connection first, ranked on four criteria:
- Site control and permitting status
- Technical plant and connection concept
- Financial capacity of the applicant
- Grid and system benefit of the project
Ties that survive the secondary criteria are broken by a transparent lottery. The procedure also introduces an application fee and a realisation deposit. Notably, the scarce resource the TSOs identify is not megawatts but free switchgear bays in substations — indivisible physical assets, which is why pro-rata allocation was rejected as unworkable.
The context is a queue that stopped being manageable. The federal ministry’s own draft bill on grid connections records applications for roughly 250 GW of battery capacity at transmission level, and approximately 400 GW of applications across transmission and distribution combined — with the explicit expectation that only a fraction is realisable. Data centers are competing for the same connection points as batteries, electrolysers, charging infrastructure and industrial electrification, against grid reinforcement lead times of eight to twelve years.
James Porter: Read criterion one again. Site control and permitting status. Under the old system you filed early and sorted the land later; the queue position was the asset. Now the land is the asset and the queue is an outcome. If your German site selection process still starts with a grid enquiry, it is running the 2025 playbook against a 2026 procedure.
Primary sources: Reifegradverfahren procedure documentation V1.1, four TSOs · TenneT announcement, February 5, 2026 · Bundestag Drucksache 21/7866, September 7, 2026
How Does Germany Compare With the United States and China?
| Market | Installed data center capacity | Year | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 48 GW | 2024 | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| China | 38 GW | 2024 | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
| Germany | 2.98 GW | 2025 | Bitkom/Borderstep, Nov 2025 |
Axis Intelligence Research finds Germany’s 2025 installed capacity equals 6.2% of the United States’ 2024 capacity — and Germany’s projected 2030 capacity of ~5 GW would still be roughly a tenth of what the US had already built in 2024.
Bitkom’s own framing is blunt: the ten largest US data centers together match the output of all 2,000 German facilities, and annual US capacity additions exceed Germany’s entire installed base by more than four times. Germany also has no dedicated AI mega-facility of the kind operating in the US and China.
Investment is nonetheless at a record. Operators put €12 billion into IT hardware and €3.5 billion into buildings and technical building equipment in 2025 — €15.5 billion in total by Axis Intelligence Research’s summation, of which roughly €2.5 billion went into cooling, power supply and building systems.
For the wider regional picture, see our Europe data center statistics hub and global data center statistics. For the AI-workload dimension, see AI data center energy consumption statistics.
Methodology
Collection. Every figure in this article was retrieved from a primary or official source during production sessions on September 9–10, 2026. Each has a corresponding row in the downloadable CSV carrying source organisation, source document, source URL, retrieval date, and whether the value is primary or Axis-calculated.
Primary sources fetched. Bitkom e.V. / Borderstep Institut, Rechenzentren in Deutschland: Aktuelle Marktentwicklungen — Update 2025 (press release and study page, November 10, 2025) · Umweltbundesamt, Stromverbrauch data page (updated May 15, 2026) · Bundesstelle für Energieeffizienz, RZReg public platform launch notice (August 14, 2026) · Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, RZReg landing page · §11 Energieeffizienzgesetz (gesetze-im-internet.de) · Four German TSOs, Reifegradverfahren procedure documentation V1.1 (netztransparenz.de) · TenneT Germany press release (February 5, 2026) · Deutscher Bundestag Drucksache 21/7866 (September 7, 2026) · Statistisches Bundesamt press release PD26/073 (March 2026) · DE-CIX press release archive.
Formulas used.
- Segment and state shares = component MW ÷ 2,980 MW.
- Residual state capacity = 2,980 − sum of eight individually reported states = 647 MW.
- Data Centre Electricity Quotient = 21.3 TWh ÷ 526 TWh = 4.05%.
- Renewable-pool share = 21.3 TWh ÷ (526 TWh × 55.1%) = 7.35%.
- Implied fleet PUE = 1 ÷ (2/3) = 1.50 (estimate; source ratio is approximate).
- Implied IT load factor = (21.3 × 2/3) ÷ (2.98 GW × 8,760 h) = 54% (estimate).
- Top-100 average = (2,980 × 50%) ÷ 100 = 14.9 MW; long-tail average = 1,490 ÷ 1,900 = 0.78 MW.
- GDIP = geometric mean of P1, P2, P3 as tabulated above.
What is not in this dataset. No figure here comes from the RZReg itself; the register launched on August 14, 2026 without a machine-readable export or an aggregate statistical release. No per-state electricity consumption is published, so state-level electricity quotients are not calculated. Facility counts from commercial colocation directories are described but not used as data, because their scope differs from the 100 kW threshold used throughout.
Where Axis Intelligence Research disagrees with a source. Bitkom describes 2025 AI capacity as “around 15%” of national capacity while also reporting 530 MW against a 2,980 MW total, which computes to 17.8%. We publish both and flag the inconsistency rather than silently selecting one. Similarly, Bitkom’s headline 2030 forecast of “over 5,000 MW” and Borderstep’s model figure of ~4,850 MW are published side by side.
About This Dataset
Title: Germany Data Center Statistics 2026 — Capacity, Electricity, State Distribution, Regulation and Grid Access
Creator and publisher: Axis Intelligence Research
Temporal coverage: 2015–2030 (observations 2015–2026; projections to 2030)
Spatial coverage: Germany, with breakdowns for 8 of 16 federal states
Format: CSV, UTF-8, one row per observation, provenance columns on every row
License: Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0). Free to share and adapt with attribution.
Download: germany-data-center-statistics.csv
Mirrors: Hugging Face · Kaggle · GitHub
Cite This Research
APA: Axis Intelligence Research. (2026, September 10). Germany data center statistics 2026: Capacity, electricity, grid access and the world’s first public register. Axis Intelligence. https://axis-intelligence.com/germany-data-center-statistics/
MLA: Axis Intelligence Research. “Germany Data Center Statistics 2026: Capacity, Electricity, Grid Access and the World’s First Public Register.” Axis Intelligence, 10 Sept. 2026, axis-intelligence.com/germany-data-center-statistics/.
Chicago: Axis Intelligence Research. “Germany Data Center Statistics 2026: Capacity, Electricity, Grid Access and the World’s First Public Register.” Axis Intelligence, September 10, 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Germany publish an official list of its data centers?
Partly. The Öffentliches RZReg, live since August 14, 2026, publishes aggregated statistics for every data center above 300 kW of non-redundant rated connection load, because filing is mandatory under §13(1) EnEfG. Facility-level annual filings appear only where the operator opted into publication. So the aggregates are close to a census; the named entries are not.
What PUE does a German data center commissioned in late 2026 have to hit?
An annual-average PUE of 1.2 or better, achieved within two years of commissioning, plus a reused-energy share of at least 10%. A facility commissioned from July 1, 2027 faces the same PUE ceiling with a 15% reused-energy share. The cabinet draft of June 24, 2026 would extend the achievement window to four years but keep the 1.2 ceiling.
Can I still secure a Frankfurt grid connection by filing early?
No. Since April 1, 2026 the four transmission operators rank high-voltage connection applications from data centers by project maturity in fixed cycles, not by filing date. Site control and permitting status, technical concept, financial capacity and grid benefit decide allocation; ties go to a transparent lottery. Filing early with an unsecured site now buys nothing.
What share of German electricity do data centers actually consume?
4.05% in 2025, calculated by Axis Intelligence Research from 21.3 TWh of sector demand against 526 TWh of national gross consumption. That is well below the concentration seen in Ireland and above the level most German policy debate assumes.
Why do other sources say Germany has 529 data centers rather than 2,000?
Different counting rules. The 529 figure comes from commercial colocation directories that count multi-tenant facilities. The 2,000 figure counts every installation above 100 kW of connection load, including enterprise and public-sector rooms. Neither is wrong; they are not interchangeable, and mixing them produces nonsense capacity-per-facility figures.
If Frankfurt is constrained, which German region is the realistic alternative?
The announced pipeline points to Brandenburg (888 MW planned), Rheinland-Pfalz via the 480 MW Nierstein project, and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, where a roughly 1,000 MW facility is under public discussion. Brandenburg and Rheinland-Pfalz trade on proximity to the Berlin and Frankfurt ecosystems with more available land; the northern states trade on land, subsea cable landings and proximity to Nordic hyperscale.
Do German data centers have to buy 100% renewable electricity?
From January 1, 2027, yes, on a balance-sheet basis, up from the 50% minimum in force since January 1, 2024. Axis Intelligence Research sizes the 2025-equivalent obligation at 7.35% of all renewable electricity consumed in Germany.
Is Germany’s average data center efficient enough to pass the 2027 rule?
On average, barely. The fleet-average PUE implied by Bitkom’s reported two-thirds IT share is approximately 1.50 — precisely the ceiling that applies to existing facilities from July 1, 2027. An average of 1.5 means a substantial share of the estate sits above it, with less than a year to close the gap.
