Home Battery Storage Cost 2026
By Axis Intelligence Research
Co-author: Aidan Jad | Last updated: October 7, 2026 | License: CC BY 4.0
Prices verified on October 6, 2026. Every spec, warranty term and price on this page was fetched from the manufacturer’s own datasheet or warranty, a live retailer listing, Berkeley Lab, or the IRS on that date. Tesla and FranklinWH publish no consumer price; where a price is quote-based, we publish a range and the basis behind it.
A home battery bought with cash or a loan in 2026 gets no federal tax credit. The IRS confirms the 30% Residential Clean Energy Credit does not apply to property placed in service after December 31, 2025. On Berkeley Lab’s median paired system, Axis Intelligence Research estimates that lost credit at about $4,851 per household.
Quick Answer: How Much Does a Home Battery Cost in 2026?
Axis Intelligence Research estimates a typical installed home battery at roughly $1,200 per kWh of capacity in 2026 — about $16,200 for a 13.5 kWh system, before incentives — derived from Berkeley Lab’s August 2026 data. With the federal credit gone for owned systems, the better buying question is the cost of each warranted kWh: our SWEC ranges from $0.27 to $0.39.
Key Findings
- Berkeley Lab’s 2026 data update reports cash-purchased residential solar-plus-storage systems carried a median price $2.1/W higher than solar alone in 2025.
- Axis Intelligence Research estimates that premium equals about $16,170 per median system, or $1,198 per kWh of storage, before incentives.
- The IRS states the 30% Section 25D credit is unavailable for any property placed in service after December 31, 2025 — battery storage included.
- Residential storage attachment rose from 25% of solar installs in 2024 to 37% in 2025, per Berkeley Lab’s 2026 data update.
- Axis Intelligence Research’s Storage Warranted Energy Cost (SWEC) puts Enphase IQ Battery 10C at $0.27/kWh, FranklinWH aPower 2 at $0.30/kWh, and Tesla Powerwall 3 at $0.39/kWh, using an identical installed $/kWh.
Why Can’t You Find a Powerwall Price Online?
Because the sticker is the installer’s, not the manufacturer’s. As of October 6, 2026, Tesla’s Powerwall page routes buyers to a quote configurator with no dollar figure on it; distributor listings for the Powerwall 3 sit behind certified-installer logins. FranklinWH’s consumer page sends buyers to its installer network. Of the three systems on this page, only the Enphase IQ Battery 10C had a public hardware price we could verify — $6,800 at SanTan Solar, an Arizona retailer, on October 6, 2026.
That opacity matters more than any single number. A battery quote bundles hardware, a gateway or combiner, electrician labor, permitting, sometimes a panel upgrade — and the installer’s margin. Berkeley Lab’s own top-100-installer data shows median residential solar prices ranging from $2.4 to $6.3/W across installers in 2025. Same equipment, same year, more than double the price depending on who signs the contract. Storage quotes inherit that spread.
So this page does two things the price pages don’t. It anchors the installed cost to the largest public dataset of real U.S. installs. Then it converts every system to a cost per kilowatt-hour the manufacturer actually promises to deliver — because the warranty, not the brochure, is the only spec a homeowner can enforce.
How Much Does Battery Storage Add to a Solar Installation?
Berkeley Lab’s U.S. Distributed Solar and Storage: 2026 Data Update (August 2026) covers roughly 5.3 million systems and 450,000 systems installed in 2025 — about 93% of the U.S. market. Among cash-purchase residential systems, it found median prices were $2.1/W higher for paired PV+storage than for stand-alone PV.
Berkeley Lab expresses that premium per watt of solar, which is not how anyone shops for a battery. Axis Intelligence Research converted it:
$2.1/W × 7,700 W (median 2025 residential PV size) = $16,170 per system $16,170 ÷ 13.5 kWh (median 2025 residential storage capacity) = $1,198 per kWh
Both medians come from the same Berkeley Lab release. This is an Axis estimate, not a Berkeley Lab figure: it assumes the paired-system premium sits on a median-sized array, and about 80% of the paired-price records come from California. Treat ~$1,200/kWh as the national anchor and your local quotes as the correction.
Installed cost by battery size (Axis estimate)
| Usable capacity | Example configuration | Estimated installed cost (pre-incentive) | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 kWh | 1 × Enphase IQ Battery 10C | ~$11,980 | Axis: $1,198/kWh × 10 kWh |
| 13.5 kWh | 1 × Tesla Powerwall 3 | ~$16,170 | Axis: Berkeley Lab median premium |
| 15 kWh | 1 × FranklinWH aPower 2 | ~$17,970 | Axis: $1,198/kWh × 15 kWh |
Source: Axis Intelligence Research calculation from Berkeley Lab, 2026 Data Update (Aug. 2026). Real quotes vary with installer, panel work and region; a second unit typically costs less per kWh than the first because the gateway, permit and site visit are already paid for.
The 13.5 kWh row is not arbitrary. Berkeley Lab reports the median residential storage capacity was 13.5 kWh in 2025 — exactly one Powerwall — and that kW sizing jumped because the Powerwall 3 discharges far harder than its predecessors. Tesla’s design has become the market’s default unit of measure.
Powerwall 3 vs Enphase IQ Battery 10C vs FranklinWH aPower 2: Specs and Prices Compared
| Spec | Tesla Powerwall 3 | Enphase IQ Battery 10C | FranklinWH aPower 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usable energy | 13.5 kWh AC | 10.0 kWh | 15 kWh AC |
| Continuous output | 11.5 kW | 7.08 kVA | 10 kW / 11.5 kVA |
| Coupling | DC (integrated solar inverter, up to 20 kW solar) | AC (integrated microinverters) | AC |
| Chemistry | LFP | LFP | LFP |
| Warranty term | 10 years | 15 years | 15 years |
| End-of-warranty retention | 70% | 60% | Not stated on datasheet |
| Throughput / cycle cap | Unlimited cycles (solar self-use, TOU, backup); 37.8 MWh other uses | 6,000 cycles | 60 MWh |
| Public hardware price (Oct. 6, 2026) | Not published (quote only) | $6,800 (SanTan Solar listing) | Not published (quote only) |
| Price verified | 2026-10-06 | 2026-10-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| Source | Tesla datasheet; Tesla US warranty | Enphase IQ Battery 10C data sheet (NA, 2025-07-31); SanTan Solar listing | FranklinWH aPower 2 datasheet (rev. 2025-12-16) |
The power column decides more household outcomes than the capacity column. A heat pump or a central AC compressor won’t care how many kWh are stored if the inverter can’t start it. Powerwall 3’s 11.5 kW and aPower 2’s 10 kW will carry an air conditioner in an outage on a single unit; one IQ Battery 10C at 7.08 kVA is sized for essential circuits, with a second unit when the load list includes a compressor. That’s a sizing difference, not a quality difference — and it is why comparing these three on $/kWh alone misleads.
What Is the Storage Warranted Energy Cost (SWEC)?
The Storage Warranted Energy Cost (SWEC) is Axis Intelligence Research’s metric for the installed cost of each kilowatt-hour a battery manufacturer contractually promises the battery will deliver over its warranty. It answers a question no pricing page does: what am I paying per unit of energy the vendor stands behind?
SWEC = Installed cost ÷ Warranted lifetime energy
Warranted lifetime energy = the lower of (a) usable kWh × 365 × warranty years × average retained capacity, or (b) the warranty’s throughput cap
Average retained capacity assumes a straight-line fade from 100% to the warranty’s end-of-term retention figure — 85% for a 70% warranty, 80% for a 60% warranty. One full cycle per day is the assumed duty, typical of solar self-consumption.
SWEC readings, as of October 6, 2026
| System | Installed cost (Axis est.) | Warranted lifetime energy | SWEC (no credit) | SWEC if 30% credit applied* |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enphase IQ Battery 10C | $11,978 | 43,800 kWh | $0.27/kWh | $0.19/kWh |
| FranklinWH aPower 2 | $17,967 | 60,000 kWh (throughput-capped) | $0.30/kWh | $0.21/kWh |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | $16,170 | 41,884 kWh | $0.39/kWh | $0.27/kWh |
*Source: Axis Intelligence Research. Inputs: Berkeley Lab 2026 Data Update; manufacturer datasheets and warranties retrieved 2026-10-06. The credit column applies to third-party-owned systems only, where a 48E credit may be reflected in the lease or PPA price; it is not a homeowner tax benefit in 2026.
Read the table carefully, because the ranking is driven by warranty, not hardware. We applied the same ~$1,198/kWh installed rate to all three systems — so SWEC isolates what each manufacturer promises per dollar. Enphase and FranklinWH both write 15-year coverage; Tesla writes 10. Franklin’s 60 MWh cap is the only one that binds under daily cycling — at one full cycle a day, 15 kWh over 15 years would pass 60 MWh unless capacity faded below an average of 73%.
Your quote changes the reading, which is the point. If an installer prices a Powerwall 3 at $13,000 installed, its SWEC falls to $0.31. If a FranklinWH quote lands at $22,000, it rises to $0.37. Plug your actual quote into the SWEC estimator on this page — the formula is identical, and it turns two incomparable quotes into one comparable number.
How does SWEC compare with what grid power costs you?
SWEC is the cost of storage capacity, not a savings figure, but it gives the time-of-use test a hard number. A battery only pays back through energy arbitrage when the gap between your peak and off-peak (or solar-export) rate exceeds the SWEC plus round-trip losses. FranklinWH states 90% round-trip efficiency on its datasheet; Enphase states 90% AC round-trip. On a $0.30 SWEC with 10% losses, the spread you need is in the low-to-mid $0.30s per kWh before arbitrage alone covers the hardware. Where the spread is smaller, the battery is a backup-power purchase that may also save some money — not the other way round.
Does the Federal Tax Credit Still Cover Home Batteries in 2026?
For homeowners who buy, no. The IRS states the Residential Clean Energy Credit equals 30% of qualified costs for property installed from 2022 through December 31, 2025, and is not available for property placed in service after that date. Battery storage of at least 3 kWh had qualified since 2023.
The exception runs through ownership. Third-party-owned systems — leases, PPAs and energy service agreements — rely on the commercial Section 48E credit rather than 25D, as trade publication pv magazine USA reported when the budget bill passed in July 2025. The lessor claims it; you see it, if at all, inside the monthly payment. Berkeley Lab’s 2026 update notes residential third-party ownership shares rose slightly in 2025 after a sharp rise in 2024.
Axis Intelligence Research estimates what the change costs a cash buyer on the median system: 30% × $16,170 = $4,851 in credit that no longer exists. That single figure explains most of the 2026 quote shock homeowners are reporting — the hardware didn’t get pricier; the subsidy left.
What Moves the Price of a Home Battery Installation?
The installer. Berkeley Lab’s top-100 installer spread of $2.4–$6.3/W for solar is the single largest variable in residential pricing data, and nothing in the storage data suggests batteries escape it. Get three quotes; the middle one is usually closest to the market.
Coupling. A DC-coupled Powerwall 3 replaces the solar inverter on a new install. Berkeley Lab found residential microinverter and optimizer share fell sharply in 2025 as Powerwall 3 systems spread — it doesn’t readily pair with module-level electronics in its typical configuration. On a retrofit to an existing Enphase array, an AC-coupled IQ Battery 10C avoids touching working equipment.
Backup scope. Whole-home backup needs enough continuous kW to start your largest motor load. Essential-circuit backup needs a critical-loads subpanel and fewer kW. The second is cheaper per system and often cheaper per kWh.
Panel and service work. Older homes may need a main panel upgrade or service work before a battery can be interconnected; that line item can rival the battery itself and is invisible on any manufacturer spec sheet.
Permits. Berkeley Lab reports paired PV+storage permit timelines fell from 35 days in 2023 to 21 days in 2025 at the 80th percentile — faster, but still a schedule cost an installer prices in.
Ownership model. Cash and loans now carry no federal credit; leases and PPAs may pass through a 48E credit. Loan-financed solar in the Berkeley Lab data was priced considerably higher than cash purchases, partly from dealer fees rolled into the up-front price.
Which Home Battery Should You Buy in 2026?
If you’re adding storage to an existing Enphase microinverter array, the IQ Battery 10C is the low-SWEC, no-rewiring choice — and the only system here with a public hardware price. Budget two units if you want the AC on.
If you’re installing solar and storage together and want whole-home backup from one box, Powerwall 3’s integrated 20 kW solar input and 11.5 kW output are why it’s the market’s median unit. Negotiate the installed price hard: at Berkeley Lab-median pricing it carries the highest SWEC on this page because its warranty is five years shorter.
If you cycle the battery hard — time-of-use arbitrage, a virtual power plant, an EV charged overnight from storage — warranty terms decide the economics. FranklinWH’s 15 years and 60 MWh give the most contractual room; Powerwall 3’s grid-charged uses fall under the 37.8 MWh cap rather than unlimited cycles.
If upfront cash is the barrier, compare a third-party-owned offer against a cash quote on total payments over 10 years, not on monthly price. That is the only remaining path to a federal credit’s value in 2026.
Home Battery Cost Questions Buyers Ask Before Signing
Is a home battery worth it without the 30% tax credit?
Only where it does a job that pays. A battery earns its cost through backup value, time-of-use arbitrage, or a utility or VPP program. Losing the credit raised the Axis-estimated median cost by about $4,851, so the arbitrage spread you need roughly rises with it. In flat-rate markets with reliable grids, 2026 batteries are mainly a resilience purchase.
How many kWh of battery does a typical home install?
Berkeley Lab reports the median residential storage capacity paired with solar was 13.5 kWh in 2025, the size of one Tesla Powerwall. Size to your outage loads first: list the circuits you need running, their kW, and the hours you want covered.
Can one battery run central air conditioning during an outage?
It depends on continuous power, not capacity. Powerwall 3 (11.5 kW) and FranklinWH aPower 2 (10 kW continuous, 15 kW for 10 seconds) are rated to run heavy loads on one unit. One Enphase IQ Battery 10C delivers 7.08 kVA, so compressor loads usually call for two.
Does Tesla’s “unlimited cycles” warranty cover grid charging?
Not every use. Tesla’s U.S. warranty lists unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup, with 70% retention at 10 years. Other applications are capped at 37.8 MWh of aggregate throughput. Read the application list before enrolling in a program that dispatches your battery.
What’s the cheapest way to get a battery’s tax credit value in 2026?
Third-party ownership. Leased and PPA systems rely on the commercial Section 48E credit, which the lessor claims. Whether you benefit depends on how much of that credit the provider prices into your payment — compare total contract cost against a cash quote.
How do I compare two quotes for different battery brands?
Divide each installed quote by the system’s warranted lifetime energy — the SWEC method on this page. It normalizes different capacities, warranty lengths and throughput caps into one cost per promised kWh. Then check whether each system’s continuous kW covers your backup loads.
Methodology
Installed cost anchor. Axis Intelligence Research multiplied Berkeley Lab’s 2025 median cash-purchase price premium for residential PV+storage over stand-alone PV ($2.1/W) by the 2025 median residential PV size (7.7 kW), then divided by the 2025 median residential storage capacity (13.5 kWh). Result: $16,170 per system, $1,198/kWh. Berkeley Lab prices are gross, pre-incentive, inflation-adjusted 2025 dollars; paired-price records are about 80% Californian.
Specs and warranty terms were taken only from manufacturer documents: Tesla Powerwall 3 North America datasheet and U.S. limited warranty; Enphase IQ Battery 10C North America data sheet (2025-07-31); FranklinWH aPower 2 datasheet (2025-12-16). All retrieved October 6, 2026.
SWEC = installed cost ÷ min(usable kWh × 365 × warranty years × (1 + end retention) ÷ 2, throughput cap). Enphase’s cap = 6,000 cycles × 10 kWh = 60,000 kWh. Powerwall 3 is modeled under its unlimited-cycle solar self-consumption terms. SWEC holds the installed $/kWh constant across vendors so the comparison reflects warranty terms; the estimator accepts a real quote in place of the default. FranklinWH’s datasheet does not state an end-of-warranty retention figure; its 60 MWh cap binds under daily cycling for any end-of-term retention of 46% or higher (60,000 ÷ (15 × 365 × 15) = 0.73 average retained capacity), so the reading does not depend on that missing input.
Prices. We checked each manufacturer’s consumer page and U.S. distributor listings on October 6, 2026. Tesla and FranklinWH publish no consumer price; the Enphase IQ Battery 10C hardware price comes from a live SanTan Solar retail listing. Aggregator price estimates were excluded because none disclosed a verifiable basis.
Dataset. Every figure on this page is in the downloadable CSV with source URL, retrieval date and calculation notes: home-battery-storage-cost-statistics.csv (CC BY 4.0).
Cite This Data
APA: Axis Intelligence Research. (2026, October 7). Home battery storage cost 2026: Powerwall, Enphase and FranklinWH after the tax credit ended. Axis Intelligence. https://axis-intelligence.com/home-battery-storage-cost/
MLA: Axis Intelligence Research. “Home Battery Storage Cost 2026.” Axis Intelligence, 7 Oct. 2026, axis-intelligence.com/home-battery-storage-cost/.
Chicago: Axis Intelligence Research. “Home Battery Storage Cost 2026.” Axis Intelligence, October 7, 2026. https://axis-intelligence.com/home-battery-storage-cost/.
